Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've never had French Onion Soup. My cousin always has to order it. I decided to try it and used this recipe. I thought it was delicious, my cousin said I could make more, (I only made 4 servings, just in case I didn't like it) I will definately make this again and again. Only change: I'll make a full recipe or maybe double it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT. I ONLY HAD UNSALTED BUTTER, SO I HAD TO ADD SALT AT THE END. I USED SOME SWISS, ROMANO & MOZZARELLA. (NEVER HEARD OF SWISS CHEESE IN FR ONION....) I BROILED 2 THIN SLICES OF FRENCH BREAD. YOU DO HAVE TO COOK THOSE ONIONS FOR AT LEAST AN HR. AND NEAR THAT HOUR, KEEP WATCHING AS THEY WILL BURN. MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS SOUP, AND SO DID I. ONE MISTAKE, YOU DIDN'T SAY WHAT TO DO W/THE PAPRIKA. I ADDED IT WITH THE BAY LEAF, ETC.. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I have never made French Onion soup before, so I'm no expert, but I followed the cooking times and measurements exactly. The onions were not cooked enough and the soup tasted WAY too onion-y. Also, I served this at a family get together and needed 12 servings; this recipe makes more like 24+. No one needs that much French Onion soup...no one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A good, basic recipe to begin with. Needed some umph added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband and I both liked it a lot. I added cayenne pepper to the soup and it gave it a little heat. I will make this again. I used too much browning sauce. Be careful. Also, I left the lid off the entire time, so there wasn't much broth left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylrowe
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Perfectly Wonderful and this is coming from an "always order French Onion Soup" lover. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was SO good! I only wish I had made twice as much - we liked it that much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
a bit salty - probably has more to do with my beef base than the recipe. very good. only cooked onions 1 hour, but then I'm not sure that I had a full 5 pounds to begin with. Will definitely make again, but probably will look for a lower sodium beef base first (or not - it's really good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I did have to add a bit of sugar to my onions and cooked them for over 2 hours but it was well worth it! This recipe makes A LOT of soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poltzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States