Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Really good, really easy. I didn't have browning sauce and didn't miss it. WIll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My son & I try every onion soup available (east coast to Honolulu and other islands across Hawaii ) when traveling. This recipe is among the best we've tried. Added bonus so easy to make. I use gruyere cheese instead only because we like it. One tip -- be patient, cook and simmer for at least the time recommended. Yummy !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
No, No and No! This soup was a project, hours and hours in the making. The finished product does not have the full body beefy onion flavor. Instead the soup is has a dark reddish hue and has a tangy taste because of all the paprika. I was quite disappointed and wondered why I trusted the recipe with so much paprika. For those of you who rated so positively, you must not know the true taste of a good French onion soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I really tried to like this recipe but there is way too much paprika and the directions need to be clearer. I thought something was wrong noting to cook the onions 1.5 hours but it is right and needs to say this is needed so that the onions carmalize. I had a problem when the dry ingredients were added and needed to cook 10 minutes. If I cooked the dry ingredients for 10 minutes they would have burnt. I also only could let the soup simmer on very low for 1.5 hours, any more and I would not have had enough liquid left for it to be soup. The broth in this recipe was somewhat heavy and almost too rich from simmering so long. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The key is to get a good swiss style cheese to melt on top (go for the pricey stuff; it's worth it). I personally don't like the bay leaf flavor in this so I leave it out. I have used both beef broth and veggie broth and had great results both times. Definitely take the time to cook the onions as the recipe indicates to maximize flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is the BEST onion soup I have ever eaten! I use Wondra (R) flour instead of AP to ensure a nice silky consistancy. Also, I toast my bread and rub it with fresh garlic for an extra layer of deliciousness, (not that this soup needs it). It may seem like a process, and though it is time consuming, it is DEFINATELY worth it~ a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
really good soup...dh really liked it too and said he'd luv to have leftovers and i can make it anytime...tho' i tweeked...(i can' help it)...no disrespect to the recipe which i basically followed except the white wine...i used a few splashes of white wine vinegar and didn't use the browning sauce coz i added alot of worcestershire (as other reviewers did) and added garlic to our taste (i do that ALOT with main dishes) and added two veggie cubes besides and some cayenne like another reviewer did...i liked the swiss cheese with...a nice change from mozza and after the onions were done i put it in a slow cooker and let it simmer away most of the day...it was great and i will forsure make this again...looking forward to leftovers and will be able to freeze some so thanks very much for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe was superb. It needed no alterations. It froze and reheated well. It was a big hit with all who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've never had French Onion Soup. My cousin always has to order it. I decided to try it and used this recipe. I thought it was delicious, my cousin said I could make more, (I only made 4 servings, just in case I didn't like it) I will definately make this again and again. Only change: I'll make a full recipe or maybe double it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States