Deluxe Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
my pick step-son loves this and he dont like anything. the family love this and it is eazy to make, i added cream of chicken because we do not eat mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was pretty good! My husband and I like a lot of different flavors, so I made a few revisions. I added one chopped fresh medium tomato, half a medium onion, a few table spoons of ranch dressing, and I also sauted fresh mushrooms in the bacon grease, drained and added it to the soup/sour cream mixture. Another change that I made was using only 8 slices of bacon instead of 18!! 18 seemed a bit much for me. Crumbled 4 over the chicken slices and 4 into the soup mixture! Tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe that my sister-in-law always brings to family gatherings. In her version she adds a slice of dried beef (not Budding pressed beef-the stuff you want to look for is in the canned meat section, by the tuna etc.)under each chicken breast. I have found 2 ways to improve her/this dish. #1 I precook the bacon and chop it up, I cannot stand limp bacon! #2 Roughly chop the dried beef and mix in with the soup/sour cream mixture. While I agree with one reviewer who complained about the high calorie/fat content, I also understand that we can't eat this every night. Save this for a special occasion and indulge once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The sauce is very tasty and indulgent, but the chicken is the star of this meal. The chicken breast itself had such great flavor. While I find it is easy to have the chicken come out tender in a casserole like this, it usually lacks flavor. Must be the bacon. If on hand I will use boneless chicken thighs with the same great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My husband tasted this and said "Wow!" The combination of flavors is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I broke the cooked bacon into bite-size pieces and sprinkled them on top of the chicken before adding the sauce. I also sauteed the mushrooms (on the same griddle as the bacon). Thanks for this terrific recipe...will definitely make again for both family and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Awsome! I was so out of this world when I tasted this. I would give this thousands of stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I live alone, so I try to scour the internet for easy recipes and today I made this and it is by far the best thing I have made in my little apartment...and it's easy! The only thing I did different was I didn't have cream of mushroom, so I added a little water and a little more sour cream, and it was still good. I also used mushrooms I bought fresh and ended up freezing instead of the canned ones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
i just put this in the oven so i will update afte we eat. ive made very simlar recipes before like the smothered chicken breast recipe on here which is always good. im not sure if rating this is the right thing because like always i doctored it up a bit. i only used two chicken breasts, and four peices of bacon. i sliced each breast in half to have four pieces that i flattened, layed one piece cut in half of bacon on each and rolled it up, securing with a toothpick. to the sauce i added white wine,garlic, some milk, and about 1-1`1/2 cups of italian blend cheese. im very excited and anxious to try this. the sauce tasted great cold, so im hoping it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very good. I keep everything in the recipe exactly as instructed except I only used 1.5 lbs chicken. Everyone in the family liked it. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I think I may get an engagement ring out of this one....he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States