Deluxe Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I decided to stray from my "traditional" pecan pie this year for Thanksgiving and give this recipe a try. BIG HIT! I don't think I'll ever go back to the old recipe after having this pie. It was wonderful. Everyone who tried it agreed it was the best pecan pie we've ever tried. I did have to increase the baking time to around 55 minutes. The recipe called for dark corn syrup, but light works just as well. Also, the directions call to add the "whipped" cream. This was a little confusing as it should (I believe) just be the heavy cream (NOT whipped). All-in-all, it was heavenly and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing it, "Peanut"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I found this recipe and made it for my family for Thanksgiving dinner. It was an absolute hit and I have been assigned the "official" pecan pie maker for Thanksgiving get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
The brandy overwhelmed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This pie was very good but I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers and used half of the amount of brandy called for. The only thing I didn't like was the pale color, probably from the addition of the cream. To solve that, I put a pie shield around the edges and ran the pie under the broiler for a few minutes to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe but the 1/2 cup of brandy is WAY too much. Everyone loved this pie but were laughing at me and saying they didn't want to 'eat this pie and drive.' Next time I'll cut the brandy in half and it should be PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefCharlette
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a very rich, flavorful, great textured pie. It baked beautifully. Nice golden coloring. I baked for 50 minutes and used 1/4 cup of the brandy. I can see where if you want a light brandy taste, a 1/4 cup will do. If you want a kick use the full 1/2 cup. Absolutely the best Pecan Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Horrible...the brandy was way way way too much!!! My husband likes brandy and he couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Wonderful recipe..have been making this for 2 years now and my boyfriend loves it!! Would not make any other pecan pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
The best ever! Wouldn't make any other pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States