Deluxe Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChefCharlette
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a very rich, flavorful, great textured pie. It baked beautifully. Nice golden coloring. I baked for 50 minutes and used 1/4 cup of the brandy. I can see where if you want a light brandy taste, a 1/4 cup will do. If you want a kick use the full 1/2 cup. Absolutely the best Pecan Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now. I t has been a huge hit. My inlaws love it so much I know I cant show up to a holiday dinner without it. Trust me when i say there won't be a crumb left & people who dont like traditional pecan pie will like this recipe too. Took the advice in other reviews to make sure you half the amount of brandy otherwise the brandy overwhelmes the flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cndrela53
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very good! If you have smaller portions, the brandy is not overwhelming, but I might add less next time I make this recipe. Also very good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Horrible...the brandy was way way way too much!!! My husband likes brandy and he couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe but the 1/2 cup of brandy is WAY too much. Everyone loved this pie but were laughing at me and saying they didn't want to 'eat this pie and drive.' Next time I'll cut the brandy in half and it should be PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This pie was very good but I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers and used half of the amount of brandy called for. The only thing I didn't like was the pale color, probably from the addition of the cream. To solve that, I put a pie shield around the edges and ran the pie under the broiler for a few minutes to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Wonderful recipe..have been making this for 2 years now and my boyfriend loves it!! Would not make any other pecan pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
The best ever! Wouldn't make any other pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Overall a great recipe, but next time I would use only half the amount of brandy. (For children, I would omit it.) Goes perfectly with the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States