Deluxe Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I decided to stray from my "traditional" pecan pie this year for Thanksgiving and give this recipe a try. BIG HIT! I don't think I'll ever go back to the old recipe after having this pie. It was wonderful. Everyone who tried it agreed it was the best pecan pie we've ever tried. I did have to increase the baking time to around 55 minutes. The recipe called for dark corn syrup, but light works just as well. Also, the directions call to add the "whipped" cream. This was a little confusing as it should (I believe) just be the heavy cream (NOT whipped). All-in-all, it was heavenly and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing it, "Peanut"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I found this recipe and made it for my family for Thanksgiving dinner. It was an absolute hit and I have been assigned the "official" pecan pie maker for Thanksgiving get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
The best ever! Wouldn't make any other pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Wonderful recipe..have been making this for 2 years now and my boyfriend loves it!! Would not make any other pecan pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cndrela53
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very good! If you have smaller portions, the brandy is not overwhelming, but I might add less next time I make this recipe. Also very good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now. I t has been a huge hit. My inlaws love it so much I know I cant show up to a holiday dinner without it. Trust me when i say there won't be a crumb left & people who dont like traditional pecan pie will like this recipe too. Took the advice in other reviews to make sure you half the amount of brandy otherwise the brandy overwhelmes the flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefCharlette
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a very rich, flavorful, great textured pie. It baked beautifully. Nice golden coloring. I baked for 50 minutes and used 1/4 cup of the brandy. I can see where if you want a light brandy taste, a 1/4 cup will do. If you want a kick use the full 1/2 cup. Absolutely the best Pecan Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Overall a great recipe, but next time I would use only half the amount of brandy. (For children, I would omit it.) Goes perfectly with the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This pie was very good but I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers and used half of the amount of brandy called for. The only thing I didn't like was the pale color, probably from the addition of the cream. To solve that, I put a pie shield around the edges and ran the pie under the broiler for a few minutes to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States