Deluxe Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I decided to stray from my "traditional" pecan pie this year for Thanksgiving and give this recipe a try. BIG HIT! I don't think I'll ever go back to the old recipe after having this pie. It was wonderful. Everyone who tried it agreed it was the best pecan pie we've ever tried. I did have to increase the baking time to around 55 minutes. The recipe called for dark corn syrup, but light works just as well. Also, the directions call to add the "whipped" cream. This was a little confusing as it should (I believe) just be the heavy cream (NOT whipped). All-in-all, it was heavenly and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing it, "Peanut"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I found this recipe and made it for my family for Thanksgiving dinner. It was an absolute hit and I have been assigned the "official" pecan pie maker for Thanksgiving get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
The brandy overwhelmed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Overall a great recipe, but next time I would use only half the amount of brandy. (For children, I would omit it.) Goes perfectly with the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
The best ever! Wouldn't make any other pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Wonderful recipe..have been making this for 2 years now and my boyfriend loves it!! Would not make any other pecan pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This pie was very good but I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers and used half of the amount of brandy called for. The only thing I didn't like was the pale color, probably from the addition of the cream. To solve that, I put a pie shield around the edges and ran the pie under the broiler for a few minutes to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe but the 1/2 cup of brandy is WAY too much. Everyone loved this pie but were laughing at me and saying they didn't want to 'eat this pie and drive.' Next time I'll cut the brandy in half and it should be PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Horrible...the brandy was way way way too much!!! My husband likes brandy and he couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States