Deluxe Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I had never made a pie before and this one was amazing!!! By blending and straining the berries, there were alot less seeds and the texture was nice and rich. I had lots of fresh blackberries from the farmers market. I took the pie to work and it disappeared! I took some other people's advice and cut down on the spices just a little and I also added cloves, which made the pie taste wonderful. I didn't have blackberry brandy so I used a little juice from a fruit cocktail cup. It was absolutely wonderful! Don't hesitate to make your pie this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Love this recipe and have made it often. I replace the brandy with Lemon Juice and leave out the spices. Excellent pie, never left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This pie is very good when spices are reduced to 1/8 or 1/4 tsp of nutmeg 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
My family loved this recipe and I will make it again. The brandy and spices gave it an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I made this pie for our church luncheon yesterday. I did put a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg in the filling, not enough to overpower but just enough to add a touch of goodness. Even though my pie dough fell apart as I was trying to put it in the pan and I had to piece it together, it must have been a great success, I came home with an empty pie pan. Everyone that had a piece said it was excellent. I really like the idea of the pureed berries to add to the whole fruit. I am going to try a blueberry pie this way also. Thanks for the grand idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
The best ever blackberry pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryam
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow! I got rave reviews when I made two of these pies for two different Thanksgiving parties! I used all frozen berries (mostly blackberries, but a bag of mixed too) defrosted them, and pureed a cup of them.. that gave me plenty of "sauce" without taking away too many chunky berries in the pie.. to make it easier, I left the seeds in.. and it was still spectacular! I also left out all the spices, and used lemon juice for the brandy. A wonderful pie recipe, and it was only my first time making one.. but nobody could tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
omitted spices, and used my own pie crust recipe. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This pie turned out beautifully! I made it for my father-in-law & he LOVED it...now I have to make it anytime there is a special occassion!! I didn't strain the puree, and I only used a 1/2 tbsp. of cinnamon & 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. It really gives it a more homemade taste w/out so much spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this recipe from blackberries picked last season and frozen. Our vines are thornless and produce pretty sour fruit. But this was the BEST blackberry pie I've ever made or tasted! The amount of sugar was just right, balancing the tartness of the berries. I loved the cinnamon and nutmeg flavors; they added a nice complexity. I didn't use the cognac; instead I substituted 1 T vanilla and 2 T reserved (unsweetened) juice. At last, a great recipe to use up all those blackberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States