Deluxe Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
EXCELLENT this pie is fantastic... i did not use any spices at all...nor any brandy I used lemon juice only but the thing i did use the second time i made this pie due to family demanding another is.. quick cook tapioca... after stirring and boiling the strained blackberrys and removing from the heat i added about a cup and a half of the tapioca and i did toss the fresh berries with flour and threw in more tapioca but boy it sure holds the pie in solid form... no more running juices once the pie is cut... for me it was perfect....I have never made a fresh berry pie before and the first time and thank you for all the reviews.. they sure helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
i added some lemon juice, and cute back a little on the cinnamon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
1 bag Remlinger Farms frozen mixed berries. Defrost 1/2 to 2/3 bag until semi-soft to use for blended berries=approx 4 cups berries. Double recipe for sauce. Slightly defrost rest of berries for pie. Dot with butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I just want to thank the person that posted this recipe. This recipe takes a bit more time but it is well worth it in the end. It's the first blackberry pie I have made that stays together when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I think making a puree with half the berries is a great idea. It definitely gives it a nice texture. I added an apple which I pureed as well. I also added 2 tablespoons of butter to the puree mix. I took the other reviewers advice and did only 1/8tsp of nutmeg and 1/4tsp of cinnamon. I think that was plenty and anymore that that would be too overwhelming. I also used lemon juice as I did not have blackberry brandy. My husband really enjoyed this and he is not usually a big fan of pies. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
AMAZING. we usually get our pie from a famous berry farm/park here in so.cal (they do set the standard for berry anything) so when I decided to attempt my first berry pie I was intimidated. This recipes hit it out of the park. We are a basic flaver family so i left out the cinnamon, nutmeg and brandy which left us with a BERY BLAST pie..MMMM. I did use fresh berries my first time and the pie was a little sweet and took 10 hours to set from being runny. So my next pie I left out 1/4 cup sugar and added a little more cornstarch and my family gave it the blessing. No more store boughts for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I loved this recipe and it was a hit at Christmas time! I used fresh blackberries, raspberries and bluberries. I needed more corn starch and more berries than the recipe called for, but it came out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Best Blackberry Pie I ever made. It does take some time to make but well worth it. I use Amaretto and just kind of poured some in. I did not measure it per say. I did use only four tablespoons of corn starch and it turned out fine. My recommendation is patience. I cooked and stirred the mixture for a while. Not sure exactly, but like 10-15 minutes while the sauce thickened. Once it got to the right thickness I knew It was ready. So take your time and it will thicken. It is worth it. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was one of the best pies I have ever made. I loved the sauce that was made with the pureed berries and sugar... I could have eaten it by itself. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States