Delmonico Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Loved these!! I made half the recipe but cheated & used frozen shredded hashbrowns. I used 5 cups(frozen, NOT thawed) for 1/2 the recipe. I also halved the salt & pepper on top of halving the recipe(so actually quartered the salt & pepper, I suppose:), just for personal taste. I didn't layer-just mixed everything up together. They were sooooo good!! Using the frozen hashbrowns, it looked very dry going into the oven but it baked up creamy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wonderful, I love it. One of my fave restaurants serves this as one of their potato choices. It works fine with frozen shredded hashbrowns or the ones from the refrigerator section. Less work and time. No need for layering this, I mix everything together, pour it in a baking dish, and stick it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
We boiled our potatoes too long and ended up modifying the recipe to make mashed instead. They were, by far, the best mashed potatoes we've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I thought that this recipe was awesome, I did add some crushed garlic and fresh parsley to the spice mixture. It was very tasty and a nice change from the normal potatoe recipes. My kids ate it so I would definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! At first I thought the bleu cheese might be too overpowering, but it wasn't. I did change the recipe up a bit based on other reviews. I changed the amount of flour to 4 tablespoons. I also added quite a bit of seasoning to it. Being that I'm from New Orleans, I like to kick it up a notch..."BAM!" I sauteed garlic in the butter and I added about 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the cheese/cream mixture. Everyone that ate it can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I first tried this recipe last Christmas. Everyone loved it and the recipe has since been shared with other members of my family. I cut some of the calories and fat by using fat free sour cream and 'light' cheese. Although it takes more time than I like to prepare, it's very well worth it. Huge hit with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My whole family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We served this with a smoked spiral ham and it was fantastic! We added chopped cooked bacon and green onions to each layer and topped it off with the same. Added extra cheese and it was a major hit. Will definitley do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is very very tasty. I made it with plain yogurt and part half and half because that's what I had. The yogurt wasn't drained, so the dish became watery and curdled looking. In spite of that, it still tasted fantastic. I love the seasoning mix for other uses as well. I want to try this with seared chicken breast on top and broccoli as an all-in-one dish. This would probably work well in a slow cooker as well. Will make again, for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
I used low fat sour cream and low fat cheese. Very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States