Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cindylouwho57
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Added double curry, 50% more cayenne for a kick, left the carrots cooked al dente, and everything was perfect in 3 hours 20 minutes, delicious!! Would also recommend leaving it thicker with less water - sticks to your ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne June

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the first time I had made ANY TYPE of curry, so it was a little scary for me...lol! But it turned out so good! I will be making it again! I did read the changes that others had submitted and decided to do a little bit of everything. I added peas, chickpeas, more curry, only one can of coconut milk and skipped the red pepper flakes. I did take some of the curry mixture and mixed with flour to thicken it up, but next time I will probably skip that step or use an extra can of coconut milk. It was spicy just using the chili powder, curry and cayenne pepper. But I gave some to my friends (who love spicy food) and they LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Changed two ingredients: Used vegetable broth, fresh onions. Did not use green peas. Extended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Use at most half of the curry, red pepper flakes and cayenne. I used half and it was still nearly inedible--I calmed it down to save it with an extra can of coconut milk and a few teaspoons of honey. Also added 2 cups of unsalted cashews and 2 cups of canned chickpeas--added them with the carrots and they were the perfect consistency. Threw some spinach in there also but did it too early and it vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My family and I liked this recipe. As I am a wimp when it comes to spicy food, this was a brave choice for me but I am glad that I did it. I did cut down on the cayenne pepper and didn't add red pepper flakes at all. Turned out perfect. Next time I make it though I will plug my crockpot in outside on our patio because the curry stank up my house for a few days afterward :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakarama
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't use soup mix, just a quarter purple onion, and added sugar snap peas halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Pretty darn good, I must say. My first run at curry in a crock pot, and I only used 2 potatoes because I threw in a whole chicken to simmer. So the coconut milk was not enough for this amount of food, so I used 2 more cans to be able to cover the majority of the chicken (3 cans total of coconut milk). I also made a total of 1.5 times the spice mixture because of the extra food compared to baseline. I used the prior suggestino to use diced onion (used dry, not fresh), and then a sprinkle of garlic sauce. Tasted great. Threw a little bit of red dal in, and then cooked up some Pad Thai for the curry to be served upon. My 12 year old daughter really digged/dug it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was really tasty. Added 5 cloves of garlic and some shrimp, although any protein will do. Might try it again with tofu or chickpeas. Couldn't find onion soup mix so I used dehydrated onions. Next time I would just go ahead and use a whole onion and some veg broth instead of water if needed. Used light coconut milk and salted to taste. Got hungry so moved it to the stove to finish cooking. Opted against serving it with rice as it already had a lot of potatoes, but would be nice served with a garlic nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was AMAZING! I mean, wow. Delicious. I ate on it all day today too! I was really nervous because of all the diverse flavors but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States