Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I wanted to like this but one can of coconut cream was way too sweet. Added some sea salt to cut the sweetness but found the peas and carrot sticks of odd texture with the rest of the veggies. Maybe coconut milk and omitting the peas and subbing chopped carrots would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Great recipe. My husband found it a bit too spicy, so if you prefer a milder spice level, you might need to decrease amount of red pepper flakes or cayenne powder. Also, the coconut cream was a little too sweet. I'll try coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sharpe Wrobel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Good enough to make again. I used 3 unpeeled russet potatoes and one large sweet potato. Added about a tbsp of cumin to the spice mix. Added 1/2 each of green and red pepper, 3 cloves of chopped garlic, onion soup mix, chopped Vidalia onion and 2 cans of coconut milk. After a couple of hours in the crockpot I added about a cup of cauliflower, the carrots and about a cup of homemade veggie broth. After another hour I added the peas and about a cup of salted cashews. All in all it took about 5 hours in the crockpot. Actually I think you could add all ingredients at the start and let it go. Because of the added ingredients, I would add a bit more curry but keep the rest of the spices the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Sounds OK as a side dish for chops or whatever meat or fish - but - packet of onion soup mix??? that's a no no....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very hot but very good. I served it with Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindylouwho57
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Added double curry, 50% more cayenne for a kick, left the carrots cooked al dente, and everything was perfect in 3 hours 20 minutes, delicious!! Would also recommend leaving it thicker with less water - sticks to your ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne June

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the first time I had made ANY TYPE of curry, so it was a little scary for me...lol! But it turned out so good! I will be making it again! I did read the changes that others had submitted and decided to do a little bit of everything. I added peas, chickpeas, more curry, only one can of coconut milk and skipped the red pepper flakes. I did take some of the curry mixture and mixed with flour to thicken it up, but next time I will probably skip that step or use an extra can of coconut milk. It was spicy just using the chili powder, curry and cayenne pepper. But I gave some to my friends (who love spicy food) and they LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Changed two ingredients: Used vegetable broth, fresh onions. Did not use green peas. Extended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Use at most half of the curry, red pepper flakes and cayenne. I used half and it was still nearly inedible--I calmed it down to save it with an extra can of coconut milk and a few teaspoons of honey. Also added 2 cups of unsalted cashews and 2 cups of canned chickpeas--added them with the carrots and they were the perfect consistency. Threw some spinach in there also but did it too early and it vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States