Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Delicious !! No leftovers with this one. Even my picky son ate two servings. Thx for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Love this recipe! I'm always searching for great slow cooker recipes, and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Needs some tweaking, but it's a great dish. I served over rice. It's quite spicy for my tastes but my boyfriend (who handles spicy food well) didn't have a problem. Here are the changes I made: 1. Used light coconut milk instead of coconut cream to make healthier 2. Used a whole 10 oz bag of carrots, didn't measure 3. Substituted 1 can chickpeas for 1 potato 4. Added some cauliflower (should prob be added with the carrots). 5. Added 1/2 an onion at the beginning Additional changes I want to make next time: 1. Add an extra can of chickpeas for protein 2. Add a handful of peanuts or cashews at the beginning With these adjustments - an awesome recipe! Delish!! Hint - spices will be cheaper at an Indian grocery store or in the international section of the reg grocery instead of with the normal spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Sooooo good! I added chickpeas like someone else suggested and doubled the recipe. I used 1 can of coconut cream and 1 can of coconut milk. Would be excellent on rice. I took it to a potluck and a man who grew up in India said he liked it! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Best Indian curry I've ever had... with a few changes. Like another reviewer recommended, I substituted 1 medium white onion diced and a teaspoon of salt for the package of dry onion soup mix. I also used three whole carrots, cut on a diagonal, instead of the matchstick carrots. I also cut the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper by half, to 1/4 teaspoon each, which was the perfect amount of heat. I used coconut milk because I live in small town with no ethnic markets, and couldn't find coconut cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of raw cashews. I put everything in the crock pot, and added an extra 1/2 cup of water, gave it a stir and cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours (didn't need to check and add water at all). I then tossed in 1/2 cup of frozen peas, and cooked with the peas for another 1/2 hour. Served with basmati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very good! I added a head of cauliflower too just because I had it and used one can of lite coconut milk then half a can of regular coconut milk (again, what I had laying around). Also added some cashews with the carrots as well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
delicious -- especially second day, when flavors have married.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Made this last night-added chickpeas and it was awesome! I cooked it for 3 hours on high and served it with rice. Can't wait to eat it again today for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this today and it is delicious! The coconut cream sweetens the curry, which is nice. I used Yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them, just scrubbed and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very Yummy! It is true this recipe will be only as good as your curry powder, don't skimp on this. I followed other reviewers recommendations and used a fresh onion with a teaspoon of salt and a clove of garlic. No coconut cream on hand so I used coconut milk. I cooked this whole deal in the oven in my dutch oven. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States