Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Best Indian curry I've ever had... with a few changes. Like another reviewer recommended, I substituted 1 medium white onion diced and a teaspoon of salt for the package of dry onion soup mix. I also used three whole carrots, cut on a diagonal, instead of the matchstick carrots. I also cut the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper by half, to 1/4 teaspoon each, which was the perfect amount of heat. I used coconut milk because I live in small town with no ethnic markets, and couldn't find coconut cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of raw cashews. I put everything in the crock pot, and added an extra 1/2 cup of water, gave it a stir and cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours (didn't need to check and add water at all). I then tossed in 1/2 cup of frozen peas, and cooked with the peas for another 1/2 hour. Served with basmati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I read this recipe and wanted to make for dinner but did not have slow cooker time. I had potatoes already boiled and I cut carrots into matchsticks and steamed in micro. I used coconut milk and veggie broth for the liquid. I cut the pepper flakes and cayenne in half and the curry powder by about 1/3. I left out the Lipton soup mix and sauteed one onion, and two cloves of garlic with the bell pepper in olive oil and then added all the ingredients and cook for less than an hour on low on the stove. I also added a can of garbanzo beans. I added the peas, frozen at the very end. We served it with a green salad and flat bread for dipping. Everyone liked it and said they were glad that I cut down on the heat so they could enjoy the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm really shocked that this has gotten such great reviews! I made it last night and did not like it! 1/4 c of curry powder was way too much, the flavors never melded or got creamy. You could actually taste the powder of the curry, it wasn't bland, but it really missed the mark, it didn't work at all. I hate throwing away good ingredients, and only do in the worst cases but it was that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Not good at all. I'm a big fan of Asian cuisine and I never had a worse curry than this. it wasn't creamy and it had a bad taste. it can't be the spices because I don't use cheap spices or imitations. I use McCormick or the lose spices from the fresh market. after I tasted it I tryed to "rescue" my dinner. I added ginger, sweet soy sauce, fresh garlic and salt. it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I read a lot of the reviews before I chose to make this for my bookclub. I was a bit concerned due to several comments saying it was "tasteless." Those cooks needed to add salt at the end - an ingredient that I believe was left out of the recipe. Once you salt it enough, it has a great flavor with a lot of heat. I also recommend adding garlic and real chopped onions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This one wasn't bad. Took off a star just because it took about twice as long to cook as the recipe stated. Made for some vegetarian friends the other night and was a big hit. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it was delicious! I boiled some broccoli on the side and threw them in a few minutes before the curry was done. It was amazing!! I also added slices of onions that I sauteed with olive oil and threw that in the curry at the end. I added some soysauce and definitely ate this with some jasmine steam rice :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this today and it is delicious! The coconut cream sweetens the curry, which is nice. I used Yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them, just scrubbed and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Needs some tweaking, but it's a great dish. I served over rice. It's quite spicy for my tastes but my boyfriend (who handles spicy food well) didn't have a problem. Here are the changes I made: 1. Used light coconut milk instead of coconut cream to make healthier 2. Used a whole 10 oz bag of carrots, didn't measure 3. Substituted 1 can chickpeas for 1 potato 4. Added some cauliflower (should prob be added with the carrots). 5. Added 1/2 an onion at the beginning Additional changes I want to make next time: 1. Add an extra can of chickpeas for protein 2. Add a handful of peanuts or cashews at the beginning With these adjustments - an awesome recipe! Delish!! Hint - spices will be cheaper at an Indian grocery store or in the international section of the reg grocery instead of with the normal spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I found that this didn't have as much of a coconut taste that I would have liked. Although it had a nice "kick" to the spice, they all tasted a little bland and earthy. I have a much better curry recipe, that I use sweet potatoes and actual onions. I did ADD tofu and hard boiled eggs to this dish (tofu while it was cooking, and the eggs towards the end) I wish I could give a 1/2 star because I would rate it 2.5 out of 5. Not horrible by any means, but probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States