Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Just o-k. It would need a lot of "tweaks" to make it yummy. I've made many a superior curry this will not be joining my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Easy and Delicious!!!! I added cubed skinless chicken breast and fresh cubed pineapples. I also just added everything to the crockpot at once, not par-cooking the chicken first. I also used the low fat coconut milk (not a creamy, but does the trick for less calories). I cooked on HIGH for 4 hours and it turned out great! I also added FRESH onions, not onion mix, as it is always better to do a natural veggie substitute. *Note: Goes great over brown or Jasmine rice cooked w/ cloves & peas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikedlove
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a solid dish -- worked well served over rice when my spice-loving vegetarian friends came over. I used a fresh onion instead of the powder, plus I added half a teaspoon of cumin. I also poured 1/3 to 1/2 a can of water in the slow cooker as the meal started cooking so I didn't have to worry about it drying out. Chopped cilantro was the perfect garnish -- really rounded out the flavor! If I do it again, I might add more of a variety of veggies, or perhaps some tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The peas are not optional for this in my home, as they make the dish, IMHO. I was surprised by how much I valued having cut the carrots in a match stick fashion! The texture was perfect, though I guess I should admit that I did add extra coconut milk (used milk, not cream). The directions for this recipe are clear and were easy to follow, however, I need helping coming up with an alternative to store bought curry powder, which is going to be important for me to finally really love this dish. I'll be trying some other 'curry' spices in time, or at least, I hope so, as I did almost thoroughly enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very Yummy! It is true this recipe will be only as good as your curry powder, don't skimp on this. I followed other reviewers recommendations and used a fresh onion with a teaspoon of salt and a clove of garlic. No coconut cream on hand so I used coconut milk. I cooked this whole deal in the oven in my dutch oven. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this recipe and make it frequently. I like to use half russet potatoes and half sweet potatoes, and a diced onion rather than the onion soup mix. I also add chickpeas. I'm lazy, so I add it all at one time, and let it cook all day, and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Best Indian curry I've ever had... with a few changes. Like another reviewer recommended, I substituted 1 medium white onion diced and a teaspoon of salt for the package of dry onion soup mix. I also used three whole carrots, cut on a diagonal, instead of the matchstick carrots. I also cut the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper by half, to 1/4 teaspoon each, which was the perfect amount of heat. I used coconut milk because I live in small town with no ethnic markets, and couldn't find coconut cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of raw cashews. I put everything in the crock pot, and added an extra 1/2 cup of water, gave it a stir and cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours (didn't need to check and add water at all). I then tossed in 1/2 cup of frozen peas, and cooked with the peas for another 1/2 hour. Served with basmati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I read this recipe and wanted to make for dinner but did not have slow cooker time. I had potatoes already boiled and I cut carrots into matchsticks and steamed in micro. I used coconut milk and veggie broth for the liquid. I cut the pepper flakes and cayenne in half and the curry powder by about 1/3. I left out the Lipton soup mix and sauteed one onion, and two cloves of garlic with the bell pepper in olive oil and then added all the ingredients and cook for less than an hour on low on the stove. I also added a can of garbanzo beans. I added the peas, frozen at the very end. We served it with a green salad and flat bread for dipping. Everyone liked it and said they were glad that I cut down on the heat so they could enjoy the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm really shocked that this has gotten such great reviews! I made it last night and did not like it! 1/4 c of curry powder was way too much, the flavors never melded or got creamy. You could actually taste the powder of the curry, it wasn't bland, but it really missed the mark, it didn't work at all. I hate throwing away good ingredients, and only do in the worst cases but it was that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States