Delightful Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
When I was a small child,my grandmother taught my sister and I this same recipand we have been useing it ever sence.I am now 34 and teaching my girls the sameone.Hope everyone enjoys it! Paula Figueroa Lorain,Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Excellent cake. Truthfully I only tried this recipe because I was curious that the rating for it was only one star but the review that went with the rating seemed very complimentary - thus piqued I took the recipe to the proof - my three teen age sons - and it passed with flying colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This is by far the easiest carrot cake recipie I've ever found -- and delicious! I made it for my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Forget all the other carrot cake recipes -- this is absolutely THE BEST !! Have made this cake at least 20 times in the past year and everyone has raved about it. Make it for birthdays at work (at least once a month) and recently for two baby showers. Everyone thought it was bakery-made. Was just asked to make it for a home wedding reception too (increased the recipe to 48 servings). Couldn't be easier because of the carrot baby food -- no more shredding carrots. What makes it even better is the frosting. Used a combination of whipped cream and cream cheese (look in the frosting recipe section), and its not as heavy as cream cheese alone and it decorates and freezes well too. If you had 10 stars, I'd give it 20!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
A very different spin on the old stand by carrot cake. Nice touch with the pineapple! UPDATE: I took this recipe and minus the pineapple, nuts, raisins. Cut it by a serving of 18 and put in a jelly roll pan. Made a carrot cake roll with my fav cream cheese frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This cake was an hit at my house. The cake was so moist and had great flavor. I also tried it with the whipped cream chesse frosting. My husband was making fun of the baby food but when he tasted it he said that he did not care what it had in it I had to make it again. Both of my sons came back for seconds and they just loved it. This is a must keep recipe for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
When I made this cake I put in all the ingredients in a bowl, mix it all together. I first tasted the mix from the bowl as I have sense I was a kid, and let me tell you it was the best thing I have ever tasted. I greased my pan put the mix in and baked it. When it came out it was even better, moist, and rich, I njoy the carrot baby food taste in the cake it made the whole cake so delouses I have never had a carrot cake made with baby food. Again it very good and out of this world my Compliments .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic recipe - I couldn't stop eating it. Admittedly, I made a number of changes: - Replaced half the flour with whole wheat (nutty flavor and better texture) - Made my own mashed carrots by boiling carrots and blending the pieces - Added some fresh, nonmashed, uncooked carrots - adds a LOT to the flavor - Replaced about half of the oil with applesauce (homemade, I just peeled and blended some apples) - Used fresh pineapple (or, I would suggest, get the canned pineapple rings and cut them up yourself - it was really nice to have small chunks of pineapple to bite into - Jumbo raisins from Trader Joe's - absolutely FABULOUS to bite into! - I also added a bit of nutmeg and ginger to balance the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Great basic recipe! I cut back on the oil to just one cup. I added on half cup of applesauce. I also added 1 cup of shredded carrots. This cake was so very moist and flavorful. I left out the nuts and coconut as the youngsters dislke them. Awesome, awesome, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I find this cake to be very moist. I made this cake. But I use your cream cheese and whipping cream frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States