Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Excellent... Very tastey...** Ok a few notes.. I leave it up to you.... - I did the mix, all wet ingredients and then all dry ingredients... A normal muffin like mixture. - I used brown sugar in place of regular sugar, taste better.. - I also used 1 cup of regular flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat.. I imagine you can use all whole wheat, if you like. Up to you... - I have to bake them for longer than 17 mins, I baked them for 20-25 mins and they were perfect. - I also added 1/2 teaspoon NUTMEG, as I ran out of ALLSPICE. :-) Ok.. those my notes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
A quick easy muffin. Few changes: Used all butter, all brown sugar, did half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, added 1/4 tsp. vanilla and 1 small finely chopped apple, raisens and 1 Tbsp. Wheat Germ. This made 18 medium size muffins. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wow, this recipe was so easy and my 3 year old loved it. I lowered the butter by half and added a touch more applsauce. I didn't have allspice on hand, so I used cinnimon and ground cloves. I also used cinnamon applsauce. Very tasty and healty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELPH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I used another reviewer's suggestion & made 6 jumbo muffins; I added 1/4 t. salt and a streusel topping, and they were delicious. My husband thought they were great and suggested I add nuts next time. I love the texture, and even though it is reminiscent of spice cake, it has a nice texture and that good old-time muffin flavor. I will definitely use this again as mini-muffins for my grand-kids and also try it as a coffee cake in a 9" baking pan. I gave it 5 stars for taste, texture, & versatility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Delicious! Especially straight out of the oven! Due to personal preference I used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flours and all brown sugar (this just screamed to me that it wanted a touch of molasses). To lighten this up, I might even try using 1/2 butter called for and subbing in extra applesauce. But some butter needs to be here--it completely adds to the flavor! YUMMY! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I changed a few things 1/2 the amount of margarine and added 2/3cup of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. of allspice instead of the whole amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Yum! Simple to make & just the right size for a different type of bread or muffin to add to a nice dinner party or brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Tried these out for my kids' school snack and they were great! Whole family loved the flavor! After reading the reviews & checking what was in my kitchen I made these changes: used 1/4 cup unsalted butter ~ substituted 2/3 cup brown sugar for white sugar ~ substituted 1/2 tsp. nutmeg for the allspice (didn't have any). For the batter: 1) mixed butter, brown sugar, eggs, and applesauce ~ 2) separately sifted together dry ingredients ~ 3) pour wet mix into dry mix and stirred just until blended. Recipe made 24 mini muffins. Next time I will: use 1 cup all-purpose flour & ½ cup whole wheat flour ~ use either chunky applesauce or add chopped apple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I love this recipe for my picky one year old. There isn't pieces of fruit for him to pick out, but he still gets the fruit. I always substitute a third of the white flour for whole wheat flour (1/2 cup in this recipe). It gives it more texture and nutrition. The second time I made them, I used a packet of Kashi's instant apple and cinnamon oatmeal instead of the the spices called for. Plus it adds the healthy oatmeal that my son won't realize is in there. They came out so good, he won't be the only one eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
these were pretty good, quick and easy, made with ingredients that I usually have on hand. As for flavor, they were pretty good, but I think if I made them again I would add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States