Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These are great! Soft, moist and very yummy! I love that the recipe is very easy! I doubled the recipe and made this as regular size cupcake and they turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These muffins are very "delightful." I used the recipe for "Delicious Apple Sauce," and that created chunks of apple in the muffin...delicious! And I added crushed pecans, which gave it a nice touch. I highly recommend this recipe for anyone who likes apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Okay, so since I didn't have a mini-muffin pan, I just made regular size muffins. Aside from that, the only things I did different was light brown sugar instead of regular sugar, then sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. I love the flavor, and my extremely picky 2 1/2 year old (as in the child will hardly eat anything he's that picky) is gobbling up his 3rd muffin and I think he's going to ask for a 4th. My 4 year old loves them, and she's never crazy about homemade muffins. This recipe will definitely be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These are VERY easy to make and produce a soft and fluffy muffin. I added caramel bits (new from Kraft in baking section) to make "caramel apple" muffins, used 1/3 wheat flour and all brown sugar. They taste more like a spice muffin, so if you want the apple taste to stand out I would suggest using chunky apple sauce or perhaps even chopping up apple pie filling and experimenting with that. Very good though, will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I did a double batch of these for my daughter's sleepover breakfast and they were gone in ONE DAY! The kids loved them! I used whole wheat flour and Splenda. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These were pretty good. I didn't have all spice so I just used nutmeg. I also threw in an extra pinch of cinnamon. I doubled the recipe and used regular sized muffin cups instead of mini muffins. I came out with about 32 regular cupcakes. I also sprinkled finely chopped pecans on top of the cupcakes right before baking them and then made a vanilla glaze-milk, vanilla, powdered sugar- and drizzled over the top of the muffins after they had cooled a bit. I really liked them, but next time I will add 1 cup of chopped apples. I would've like them to have more of an apple taste to them and I think the cup of chopped apples will help. Otherwise, definitely a great autumn recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hardin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Alma, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I doubled this recipe as I have four young children and knew that they would go fast... my few additions: added 1 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. allspice in addition to the cinammon. Since I had a bunch of apples, I cooked the apples the night before and used the homemade applesauce for the recipe. I also used the medium sized muffin pan to make approximately 20 muffins (I probably could have made 24, if I didn't use so much batter in each pan). These muffins were nice to bring for a sunny day picnic at the park. The kids loved them. Very yummy, right out of the oven. I definately would make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My 12 year old daughter made these last night! There were quick, easy and very good. Followed recipe exactly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Tried these out for my kids' school snack and they were great! Whole family loved the flavor! After reading the reviews & checking what was in my kitchen I made these changes: used 1/4 cup unsalted butter ~ substituted 2/3 cup brown sugar for white sugar ~ substituted 1/2 tsp. nutmeg for the allspice (didn't have any). For the batter: 1) mixed butter, brown sugar, eggs, and applesauce ~ 2) separately sifted together dry ingredients ~ 3) pour wet mix into dry mix and stirred just until blended. Recipe made 24 mini muffins. Next time I will: use 1 cup all-purpose flour & ½ cup whole wheat flour ~ use either chunky applesauce or add chopped apple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I love this recipe for my picky one year old. There isn't pieces of fruit for him to pick out, but he still gets the fruit. I always substitute a third of the white flour for whole wheat flour (1/2 cup in this recipe). It gives it more texture and nutrition. The second time I made them, I used a packet of Kashi's instant apple and cinnamon oatmeal instead of the the spices called for. Plus it adds the healthy oatmeal that my son won't realize is in there. They came out so good, he won't be the only one eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States