Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe almost exactly and they really surprised me. They were moist, easy, fast, very yummy and low cal. to boot. My only changes were using 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, since I had no allspice, and I added some walnut pieces. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jibber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thamesford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These are quick and easy and really delicious! I made a few alterations though... I used unsalted butter instead of margarine, whole wheat flour instead of white, brown sugar (lightly packed) instead of white, nutmeg instead of allspice, organic blackberry/applesauce (i was trying to avoid high-fructose corn syrup and all the mainstream brands have it), and 2 tsp cinnamon instead of 1. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 gala apple, peeled and chopped. I got 6 big muffins or 12 smaller ones. I also only cooked the smaller muffins for 15 minutes; the big ones for about 19-20 minutes. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Good base recipe. I jazzed it up a bit by cutting up an apple and throwing it in with some raisins. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was a very easy recipe, and turned out great. Upon suggestions from other users, I substituted brown sugar for the white, and used one cup unbleached white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Family really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very moist and light,but sadly didnt really push the envelope far enough for me.I was hoping for the apple to stand out a bit more from the spices.I shant give up on this one though and shall try again by adding perhaps grated apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyAustralian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
a little bland next time I will increase cinnamon and add some Vanilla. I made normal muffins as I don't have a little pan so I increased time to 20 minutes and they came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
These muffins are very good in an understated kind of way. I used 1 c. of graham flour (in place of some of the white), and that made the texture quite nice. I also added chopped apples; 3/4 of a gala was just right. Next time I'll decrease the butter a bit and probably add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
While these were very moist and perfectly fine tasting, they just didn't do much for me. I enjoyed trying them, but probably won't make them again. I think that these would be a good choice for kids, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These were good -- the only change I made was to add 1 T. of pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and allspice because I realized after I already started this recipe that I didn't have any allspice. I also used a chunky applesauce as a few others suggested. I don't think that it was quite "apple-y" enough, though. I'd suggest folding in some chopped apple before spooning the batter into the muffin cups to give the muffins a little more texture and stronger apple presence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I have follow 'KitKat' suggestion and use the 'muffin mixing method' and wow! I got a biggest top crown on a muffin I have ever got. They're very moist and tasty and next time I will add nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States