Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made these last night and loved them! Used light brown sugar instead of white sugar, replaced half the butter with apple sauce, replaced half the flour with whole wheat (would have done all whole wheat, but ran out!), added a small chopped & peeled pink lady apple. Used a tsp cinnamon, tsp nutmeg, & a half tsp apple pie spice. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Caruso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Sub'd half the butter for one apple. Made 12 muffins and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and used all brown sugar, real butter, and half whole wheat flour. My husband requested that these have a streusel topping like coffee cake and it was a great idea and turned out well! For streusel: Mix 2 TBSP flour, 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and cut in 2 TBSP of butter. Sprinkle the mixture over each muffin before baking. Next time I will bake mine for one minute less as I have a hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I cut the sugar cut back by half and it was perfect for me. Other than that, it was fluffy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used my homemade applesauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am confused...why rate the recipe 5 stars if you change it even a small amount? Some people almost substituted every item for their own. It becomes your recipe then, not hers. I made it exactly the way listed here and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Last Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
perfect for breakfast before school. i used cinnamon apple sauce and 1/4 vanilla extract and brown sugar. the cinnamon apple sauce compliments this recipe nicley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I did use brown sugar and would again...however it needs a bit more flavor for my taste. I think I'll play around with the spices a bit...or even the type of applesauce that I use. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made as directed except that I added 1 small apple diced. They were good, but too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These were very yummy! Next time I will make homemade applesauce to take it up a notch. I kept them in the fridge and they kept well for an entire week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States