Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Enochwel
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
So good I couldn't wait to review it! Used almond milk & Hershey's cocoa powder. I did have trouble getting the milk to saturate the cocoa, so I could have benefited by putting dry ingredients into sauce pan first. Used an electric whisk to froth it up. Salt and cinnamon was a nice touch. Didn't have the pepper so left that out, although I do like the chocolate pepper combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used cashew milk because I can't have soy, but otherwise I followed the rest of the ingredients as written. I felt it was a bit heavy on the salt (I don't know if that has anything to do with the different milks) so I added another pinch of cinnamon and cayenne. The end result was delicious! Nice and spicy...I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
delicious. my only suggestion is to add marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So far, this has been my best attempt at vegan hot chocolate. I followed the instructions pretty much exact- except I might have extra big pinch with the spices and used raw sugar instead of white. I loved the spicy notes and the richness. In the past, I think I made the mistake of using cheap cocoa powder. Don't do this! Just spend the extra money and get the good stuff. It's a treat so you want it to taste decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm not big consumer of hot chocolate - I'd rather have a hoppy beer - but this is exceptional. Made it true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used unsweetened plain almond milk, but found it needed a lot more sugar. For a half recipe, I did: 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk, 2.5 TBL sugar, 1.5 TBL cocoa, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch cayenne, pinch cinnamon. I might tweak it again and see how it fares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum. This was my first attempted recipe for homemade hot chocolate and I am so glad I tried it! I took advice from past comments and cut the salt in half. I also didn't have any cayenne so that was omitted. Very delicious stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was all out of white sugar, so I used brown sugar instead. Even with the minor adjustment, my hot chocolate was delicious! This will be my new go-to recipe when it's chilly outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Not bad at all! I tweaked it a bit myself: I used unsweetened almond milk, plus a smidge more sugar and left out the cayenne. Oh, also used only a pinch of salt, due to the reviews about saltiness. I can finally have hot cocoa on a cold night again! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I couldn't give 5 because I altered it. I used 1/2 rice milk and 1/2 almond milk (that's what I had -don't do soy). I also used 1 T cacao powder and 2 T agave (vs cocoa and sugar). Whisked the ingredients while heating to break up the cacao powder. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States