Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
delicious. my only suggestion is to add marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So far, this has been my best attempt at vegan hot chocolate. I followed the instructions pretty much exact- except I might have extra big pinch with the spices and used raw sugar instead of white. I loved the spicy notes and the richness. In the past, I think I made the mistake of using cheap cocoa powder. Don't do this! Just spend the extra money and get the good stuff. It's a treat so you want it to taste decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm not big consumer of hot chocolate - I'd rather have a hoppy beer - but this is exceptional. Made it true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used unsweetened plain almond milk, but found it needed a lot more sugar. For a half recipe, I did: 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk, 2.5 TBL sugar, 1.5 TBL cocoa, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch cayenne, pinch cinnamon. I might tweak it again and see how it fares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum. This was my first attempted recipe for homemade hot chocolate and I am so glad I tried it! I took advice from past comments and cut the salt in half. I also didn't have any cayenne so that was omitted. Very delicious stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was all out of white sugar, so I used brown sugar instead. Even with the minor adjustment, my hot chocolate was delicious! This will be my new go-to recipe when it's chilly outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Not bad at all! I tweaked it a bit myself: I used unsweetened almond milk, plus a smidge more sugar and left out the cayenne. Oh, also used only a pinch of salt, due to the reviews about saltiness. I can finally have hot cocoa on a cold night again! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I couldn't give 5 because I altered it. I used 1/2 rice milk and 1/2 almond milk (that's what I had -don't do soy). I also used 1 T cacao powder and 2 T agave (vs cocoa and sugar). Whisked the ingredients while heating to break up the cacao powder. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was quick and easy. I didn't have the pepper so I omitted it. Also I used a bit too much cinnamon but it was tasty regardless. Next time I would mix the cocoa powder with a little bit of water before adding it into the saucepan- no clumps that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I just purchased a soymilk maker and was anxious to make hot chocolate with some of my first batch of milk. This recipe looked great, so I decided to give it a try. I cut the recipe in thirds because I really just wanted a bit. I used just a few grains of salt and omitted the cayenne pepper, since I didn't have any. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Next time, I might make it a tad bit sweeter and use stevia. And I will try it with cayenne. I like chocolate bars with a bit of chili, so I imagine I will like it with a bit of kick. All in all, a good, creamy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States