Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this with almond milk, because that is what I had. I also used stevia instead of the sugar. It was fine except for all that salt! I have no idea why you would put that much salt in this recipe. I could not drink it, and will try again without the salt, or with just the tiniest pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enochwel
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
So good I couldn't wait to review it! Used almond milk & Hershey's cocoa powder. I did have trouble getting the milk to saturate the cocoa, so I could have benefited by putting dry ingredients into sauce pan first. Used an electric whisk to froth it up. Salt and cinnamon was a nice touch. Didn't have the pepper so left that out, although I do like the chocolate pepper combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used cashew milk because I can't have soy, but otherwise I followed the rest of the ingredients as written. I felt it was a bit heavy on the salt (I don't know if that has anything to do with the different milks) so I added another pinch of cinnamon and cayenne. The end result was delicious! Nice and spicy...I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
delicious. my only suggestion is to add marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So far, this has been my best attempt at vegan hot chocolate. I followed the instructions pretty much exact- except I might have extra big pinch with the spices and used raw sugar instead of white. I loved the spicy notes and the richness. In the past, I think I made the mistake of using cheap cocoa powder. Don't do this! Just spend the extra money and get the good stuff. It's a treat so you want it to taste decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm not big consumer of hot chocolate - I'd rather have a hoppy beer - but this is exceptional. Made it true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used unsweetened plain almond milk, but found it needed a lot more sugar. For a half recipe, I did: 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk, 2.5 TBL sugar, 1.5 TBL cocoa, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch cayenne, pinch cinnamon. I might tweak it again and see how it fares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum. This was my first attempted recipe for homemade hot chocolate and I am so glad I tried it! I took advice from past comments and cut the salt in half. I also didn't have any cayenne so that was omitted. Very delicious stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was all out of white sugar, so I used brown sugar instead. Even with the minor adjustment, my hot chocolate was delicious! This will be my new go-to recipe when it's chilly outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Not bad at all! I tweaked it a bit myself: I used unsweetened almond milk, plus a smidge more sugar and left out the cayenne. Oh, also used only a pinch of salt, due to the reviews about saltiness. I can finally have hot cocoa on a cold night again! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States