Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm not big consumer of hot chocolate - I'd rather have a hoppy beer - but this is exceptional. Made it true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used unsweetened plain almond milk, but found it needed a lot more sugar. For a half recipe, I did: 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk, 2.5 TBL sugar, 1.5 TBL cocoa, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch cayenne, pinch cinnamon. I might tweak it again and see how it fares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum. This was my first attempted recipe for homemade hot chocolate and I am so glad I tried it! I took advice from past comments and cut the salt in half. I also didn't have any cayenne so that was omitted. Very delicious stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was all out of white sugar, so I used brown sugar instead. Even with the minor adjustment, my hot chocolate was delicious! This will be my new go-to recipe when it's chilly outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Not bad at all! I tweaked it a bit myself: I used unsweetened almond milk, plus a smidge more sugar and left out the cayenne. Oh, also used only a pinch of salt, due to the reviews about saltiness. I can finally have hot cocoa on a cold night again! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sina85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I couldn't give 5 because I altered it. I used 1/2 rice milk and 1/2 almond milk (that's what I had -don't do soy). I also used 1 T cacao powder and 2 T agave (vs cocoa and sugar). Whisked the ingredients while heating to break up the cacao powder. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was quick and easy. I didn't have the pepper so I omitted it. Also I used a bit too much cinnamon but it was tasty regardless. Next time I would mix the cocoa powder with a little bit of water before adding it into the saucepan- no clumps that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I just purchased a soymilk maker and was anxious to make hot chocolate with some of my first batch of milk. This recipe looked great, so I decided to give it a try. I cut the recipe in thirds because I really just wanted a bit. I used just a few grains of salt and omitted the cayenne pepper, since I didn't have any. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Next time, I might make it a tad bit sweeter and use stevia. And I will try it with cayenne. I like chocolate bars with a bit of chili, so I imagine I will like it with a bit of kick. All in all, a good, creamy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Holy Grail of Cocoa:  i adore cocoa so much that i drink it year round, cold in the summer.  so when i became vegan i was distraught that every alternative milk i tried tasted terrible with cocoa.  think of it like painting walls with red paint - it seems like a dark color but in fact, it's the sheerest and if you don't use dark primer, it will never look right.  likewise, chocolate seems like an intense flavor but it is easily overwhelmed by anything other than cow's milk, often leaving behind an aftertaste of rope (despite so many recommendations of adding cinnamon/cayenne) or too watery. finally, in desperation, i tried the very last alternative milk on the market, Pacific Brand's non-dairy OAT milk.  cocoa nirvana at last:  it's creamy enough, doesn't compete with the taste of cocoa and leaves no aftertaste.  i sweeten mine with a PINCH of organic stevia (man, that stuff is potent!).  NOW try all those vegan cocoa recipes! if you just adore soy milk or some other variety, add all the cocoa to it that you want.  but if what you want is the pure, unadulterated cocoa that God and Mr. Hershey intended, Oat Milk is your ticket to enjoying a true cup of cocoa sans dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I didn't like this. It came out a bit salty and bitter. Maybe it is because I used rice milk instead. I followed the rest of the recipe, though. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States