Delicious Sweet and Buttery Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I used 3 bananas and 1/3 cup brown sugar. It was DELICIOUS on our waffles this morning! I think with a touch of rum, it would be yummy on ice cream for adults - sort of a bananas foster type topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made as written except I used a small amount of brown sugar instead of maple sugar. Great warm on top of homemade waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
i used dark brown sugar instead and less of it; it turned out great used as a topping for pancakes with yogurt-fantastic taste and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
loved this. I used brown sugar (only about a fourth of a cup) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinaHoward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I gave it a four, because, while it was still pretty good, I had to make a huge adjustment: the Sugar. 1 cup was entirely too much. I didn't have maple sugar, so I used brown sugar (not even 1/4 cup). I also added a few drops of lemon to the brown sugar mixture as it cooked. I had mine with vanilla ice cream, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I used brown sugar instead of the maple sugar. I didn't have any maple extract either so I added a bit of vanilla. Also used 3 bananas and just topped it with the brown sugar-didn't add a cup. Also tossed bananas in lemon juice as someone suggested. This was a very yummy topping to add to my homemade crepes. Would probably work well with several different kinds of fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Manor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I only made it for one but I can see it being good for ice cream or pancakes but, I didn't like it by itself, but it is quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is G-O-O-D! I thought a cup of sugar would have been way to sweet so I added 2 TBS in all and it was just right. My husband and I immediately started thinking of things we could put it on like french toast, pancakes, vanilla yogurt, ice cream, shortcake, well you get the idea. Great little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skuba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I make this every so often, not as a dessert but as a pancake/waffle/ice cream topping. I used brown sugar and a little maple flavoring instead of maple sugar and add until it's the consistancy I'm looking for. I usually will toss the bananas in a tbsp. of lemon juice before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States