Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I found it was better to dry the shredded potatoes before combing in egg mixture. Also, make the cakes small and relatively thin so the potatoes can cook through. The kids ate them with ketchup and said them to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
As made according to the recipe, these were quite tasty! I'd implore you to make one to taste before you cook them all up. I found that by adding a little Italian seasonings to the potatoes, 2 Tbs soy sauce and 1 Tbs ketchup to the filling they were AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I tried it as the recipe reads. Making beef filled potato pancakes. It was a total nightmare. The potato was getting stuck to the pan dispite using oil and the beef was never going to fully cook before the potatoes were done. So I threw out that batch made the rest of the meat into patties and served with remaining potatoes on the side. Ended up being delicious! My husband loved it as did I. I added cheese to beef mixture. Also added garli powder to potato mixture..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I made these with mild breakfast sausage instead of ground beef since that is what I had on hand. I got 8 patties out of it so maybe my patties were a bit smaller. I cooked them on low so they cooked well on the inside when the outsides were browned. I did not need to precook the meat to get them done through this way. Did not need much oil to fry them in either...just sprayed a little veggie oil on the pan and the grease that cooked out of the meat took It from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. It could use some more salt though. I followed others suggestions about the meat - I made the meat mixture and then sauteed it, then followed the rest of the instructions. Came out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I do take a short cut and use a box of dry potato pancake mix instead of making the pancakes from scratch. There is no need to precook the meat as it cooks along with the pancake mix. Use a non-stick pan and they will not stick. I serve this as a dinner meal topped with brown gravy and soup and vegs with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I cheated and used frozen hashbrowns and added more seasonings to the meat. My 2 and 4 year old girls LOVED this! Easier to do than I thought, great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I thought this recipe looked neat, so I wanted to try it. There was no way I was going to peel and grate 8 potatoes for a recipe I had never even eaten. So, I used 2-20oz bags of simply potatoes shredded plain hashed browns. I also just minced instead of grated the onion. I found making the patties to be fairly easy and used kitchen scoops to get the correct amounts. The patties did stay together well, but I feared they burger wouldn't cook in time, and cooked them much longer than suggested. Overall they didn't have a lot of flavor though, and the burger couldn't be tasted much. I ended up eating it with ketchup and it tasted more like french fries with a little burger then. I made 5 so far, but will probably just cook the rest in a pan separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Hubby says it's a burger and frys all in one. It's different and good. I followed recipe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These were pretty tasty! I used a package of frozen hashbrowns and had a lot of meat left over which I just made 2 hamburgers with for lunch the next day. Next time I will either use less potatoes per patty or more meat. It wasn't very balanced (my fault).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States