Delicious Spinach and Turkey Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
A tasty, healthy recipe. I listened to previous reviewers and (1) layered chopped spinach over the ricotta instead of mixing it in, (2) combined the ricotta with two eggs and (3) used three cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder. I also sauteed the onions with some diced green bell peppers (to get more veggies in there) and used no-boil lasagna that I had on hand. Results were great! My boyfriend, who is a little picky, really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this tonight and was extremely disappointed. Took me longer to prepare. The reason it was not good was due to the spinach. It was loaded with spinach. Way too much. If u choose to make this try 3 cups spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
For my personal tastes I like to kick this up with the addition of a couple of cloves diced garlic, some extra oregano, and a BIG dose of Crushed Red Pepper in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Not to be that reviewer that says, "it was good, but I changed it in such and such way and it was better...", but I have been making turkey spinach lasagna for a while now and have a pretty good recipe now. 1) I always use a 10oz box of frozen chopped spinach that I defrost and squeeze all the water out. 2) When I mix the spinach in with the ricotta, I always add an egg and a couple spoonfuls of lowfat cottage cheese (I know it sounds weird, but it's really good). 3) I also like to use jarred pasta sauce that has veggies in it, just to get that much more into my kids. Even though a whole lasagna takes a while to eat in my house, by kids are happy with the leftovers the whole time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneybee81
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made a double batch last night and my kids are eating it up no problem, and I think it is great comfort food. I threw in 2 garlic cloves with the onions, 2 eggs with the ricotta (I've never made lasagna without egg and decided not to try it) and used baby spinach. I used Hodgson Mills ww lasagna noodles and cheap store brand sauce. I did have some problems with assembly, the spinach/ricotta was hard to spread and I ran out after 2 layers. I ran out of meat sauce as well after two layers. I skipped the top ricotta layer and meat layers (which I actually prefer to do anyway) and used some extra sauce I had in the cupboard for the top. I think when I make it again I will not combine things - I will pour plain sauce, layer ground turkey, layer ricotta/egg mixture, lay spinach leaves across the ricotta and then sprinkle mozerella. With these changes I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I was a little skeptical about making this lasagna since it uses fat free ricotta but it was pretty good! I made a couple of changes though. I used about 4 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder and probably only 3 cups or so of the spinach. I think any more than that would have been way too much. I also replaced the mushrooms with green bell pepper (I don't like mushrooms). In a traditional lasagna, you add egg to the ricotta so that's what I did but I'm not sure I needed it since it was fat free, the cheese was already pretty soft. Also instead of layering the mozzarella, I mixed it in with the ricotta and grated in some fresh parmesano reggiano. I only got two layers out of it with the turkey and ricotta but it was plenty. And, not so bad reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mishyb28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Yummy Yummy! I made this with vodka sauce & no Spinach! Very flavorful and got lots of compliments! Will keep this recipie! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallycantcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I thought this recipe was great! I read other reviews that there wasn't enough ricotta mixture so I made sure to spread it pretty thinly and it worked out. I also only used 3 cups of spinach and added an egg to the ricotta mixture. Also, I eyeballed the nutmeg and went a little light on it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I did increase ricotta mixture and meat mixture by another cup each as i ran out for the top layer..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I don't eat beef, so this was a great alternative to a more traditional lasagna. It went together quickly and easily. Mine came out with a bit of runny liquid around the bottom, but could have easily been a mistake I made, and either way it was still very good and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States