Delicious Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Okay, here's a revelation for everyone out there: not all southerners agree on the way cornbread should taste! Probably the only true constants are a pre-heated iron skillet, and I would say lard (Crisco) instead of butter, but maybe that's just me. This recipe is, hands down, the best one I've tried in a long time. I have to qualify that by saying that I made it with sorghum syrup and I don't think it would have worked as well with honey. The tang of the sorghum, combined with the sour buttermilk was what made it really work for me. I do think cornbread can be too sweet (or too eggy or too cakey), but I've never tried it with sorghum before -- perfect!!! Also, I doubled the recipe for my 10" skillet because cornbread goes really fast at my house and I needed each slice to be pretty hefty. Finally, I'm not a big fan of sprinkling the cornmeal in the hot skillet -- if you're skillet is hot enough (okay, I also made this at 425 instead of the suggested 400), I don't think you really need it, and it can cake up if you're not careful. Having said all that, this will be the only recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was really good and quick to make. I heated the oil in the skillet right in the oven while it pre-heated. Love the crust on the bread from the hot skillet. FYI: if you don't have self-rising cornmeal, add 2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to one cup of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Tried the sorghum molasses as the author suggested. Not only turned the cornbread dark, but gave it a most unusual flavor. Not of the usual cornbread lovers in my house cared for it. 4 whole slices & 3 half-eaten were thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This is definitely a terrific cornbread recipe. It was a snap to make, and tasted wonderful. I usually add a bit more sugar to my batter, but that's personal taste. I couldn't find the molasses that were originally called for, but will try to make again with that ingredient, should I find it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is excellent and if I could rate higher than 5 stars I would. I followed the ingredients exactly using honey and not molasses. I placed the oil in my cast iron 8" skillet and then preheated the oven with the skillet on the middle rack. I left the skillet in the oven while I prepared the cornbread. I removed skillet from oven and sprinkled the tablespoon of cornmeal on the bottom of the skillet. I then poured the cornmeal mixture in the skillet and it sizzled slightly. I placed in the oven and baked for 21 minutes. Removed and coated top with butter. Recipe did not specify white or yellow cornmeal - I used white! This is not a sweet cornbread! Outside is crisp and golden inside is moist! Excellent with honey butter! Thank you Mason for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shearone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Awesome! I added a bit more honey -- tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I doubled the recipe and used a 10-inch skillet and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am sorry, but I did not care for this. Of course I am from the south and we do not like sweet cornbread. I have also never had cornbread with eggs before, but that I am willing to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Of all times for me to go on a low carb diet! My husband loved this recipe! Will make again. Instead of using oil and then mixing it in the batter, I did what my mom does. I take bacon grease (I know) and heat it in the skillet. Then I slowly add the mixed batter to the skillet. If you pour slowly it will push the oil out and really make the edge of the crust crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is the best cornbread I have ever eaten. My boyfriend asked me to make extra so that he could eat it during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States