Delicious Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Wonderful! You won't miss the regular gluten-laden version of Southern Cornbread. I live in the South and my friends and hubby LOVE this. I also tried it with coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and coconut milk instead of buttermilk because of food allergies and it was AWESOME! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Of all times for me to go on a low carb diet! My husband loved this recipe! Will make again. Instead of using oil and then mixing it in the batter, I did what my mom does. I take bacon grease (I know) and heat it in the skillet. Then I slowly add the mixed batter to the skillet. If you pour slowly it will push the oil out and really make the edge of the crust crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I loved the dense consistency of this cornbread. I like mine a bit sweet so I added 2 tbsp sugar instead of honey, but that's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This is the best cornbread that I have ever tasted...the honey just adds a special touch...I used a small cast iron skillet but if you want to feed more than 2 double the recipe by all means...I have made this 3 times in the past week...a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
The taste of this cornbread is great. My entire family loved it. But I question the amounts. I used a 6 x 9 pyrex dish and the finished bread was thin, only 1 1/2" thick. I will double the recipe next time to fill a 9" round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was really good and quick to make. I heated the oil in the skillet right in the oven while it pre-heated. Love the crust on the bread from the hot skillet. FYI: if you don't have self-rising cornmeal, add 2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to one cup of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Okay, here's a revelation for everyone out there: not all southerners agree on the way cornbread should taste! Probably the only true constants are a pre-heated iron skillet, and I would say lard (Crisco) instead of butter, but maybe that's just me. This recipe is, hands down, the best one I've tried in a long time. I have to qualify that by saying that I made it with sorghum syrup and I don't think it would have worked as well with honey. The tang of the sorghum, combined with the sour buttermilk was what made it really work for me. I do think cornbread can be too sweet (or too eggy or too cakey), but I've never tried it with sorghum before -- perfect!!! Also, I doubled the recipe for my 10" skillet because cornbread goes really fast at my house and I needed each slice to be pretty hefty. Finally, I'm not a big fan of sprinkling the cornmeal in the hot skillet -- if you're skillet is hot enough (okay, I also made this at 425 instead of the suggested 400), I don't think you really need it, and it can cake up if you're not careful. Having said all that, this will be the only recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am sorry, but I did not care for this. Of course I am from the south and we do not like sweet cornbread. I have also never had cornbread with eggs before, but that I am willing to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Experimented by adding a Tbl. of Indian Jaggery. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Tried the sorghum molasses as the author suggested. Not only turned the cornbread dark, but gave it a most unusual flavor. Not of the usual cornbread lovers in my house cared for it. 4 whole slices & 3 half-eaten were thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States