Delicious Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was just like my Mom's cornbread. Unfortunately, it never occurred to me to learn her recipe. After she passed away, I thought I would never have any like it again. Perfect texture and flavor. Thanks for helping me recreate a happy memory to share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Easy and delish! Crispy on the bottom, fluffy on the inside. I made it without the honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This recipe is dry and cakey and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wow I could eat this whole pan of cornbread! I did as other sugg. and used sorghum molasses and I subbed out the oil in the recipe for melted butter flavored shortening. Now it's a true southern cornbread! Better than my Momma's, and that's saying a lot ;) I baked it in my heated cast iron skillet 400 degrees for 18 minutes & it was perfect! Crisp outside and moist and tender inside, not dry like some other recipes I've tried on this site :) This is my new "go to cornbread" from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was NOT a true southern recipe. NO ONE puts molasses in the mix. Maybe as something eaten with the bread. Just a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is excellent and if I could rate higher than 5 stars I would. I followed the ingredients exactly using honey and not molasses. I placed the oil in my cast iron 8" skillet and then preheated the oven with the skillet on the middle rack. I left the skillet in the oven while I prepared the cornbread. I removed skillet from oven and sprinkled the tablespoon of cornmeal on the bottom of the skillet. I then poured the cornmeal mixture in the skillet and it sizzled slightly. I placed in the oven and baked for 21 minutes. Removed and coated top with butter. Recipe did not specify white or yellow cornmeal - I used white! This is not a sweet cornbread! Outside is crisp and golden inside is moist! Excellent with honey butter! Thank you Mason for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this about a week ago for myself and my parents to serve with chili, and it went perfectly. It's moist, perfectly sweet, and not too crumbly or gritty. I appreciate this as a classic sweet cornbread recipe. I'm on here right now because I'm making it again for dinner, and I thought I should go ahead and give this guy some props. Swipe some butter on it and it is true southern goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I don't use the honey, just a little dab of sugar. I heat my 8x8 glass baking dish (with oil in it) while oven is preheating and about 5 min after oven is fully heated. I spoon the mix into the dish never taking dish out of oven. Bake at 425 for 20-22 mins. Result: perfect cornbread on inside and crispy outside crust. It's exactly how us Tennesseans love our cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is delicious!! I doubled the recipe tonight for a 10" skillet....it was perfect. It made a crispy crust and crispy on top. I set my oven to 450 degrees, though. This is now my official cornbread recipe for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Not to my taste... very flat and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States