Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I make these all the time. I've made some modifications to make them healthier (sub applesauce for some of butter, whole wheat pastry flour, less sugar, less jam filling), and my kids love them. If you make a double batch and substitute an egg for 1/4 cup of the butter, they don't crumble as much. I melt the butter and just stir it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
614 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I was a little skeptical on the taste of these bars since the ingredient list was so short, but WOW!!, was I amazed. These are buttery, moist, crunchy and sweet. Not dry or crumbly at all and SOOOO easy to make. Definitely double the recipe because these disappear fast and the original recipe doesn't make that much. I've also added 1 teaspoon lemon zest to the jam b4 before baking and it enhanced the flavor wonderfully. Tip: if using cold jelly, warm it up about 20-30 seconds in the microwave. This will make spreading much easier! I used jelly with seeds and it tasted great, can't tell a difference. These also keep soft and tender for days - so great for giving. You can't go wrong with this one - tastes just as awesome as the ones in my local gourmet bakery. This will be my master recipe for these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My husband said these were 5 star bars and I almost felt guilty...didn't EVEN tell him how little effort it took to make them! What a great recipe to go to when you need something sweet, home baked, don't want to make a major project out of it, and with just a few ingredients that you always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I really like these. I did bump them up a bit this time though. I used seedless blackberry Polaner All Fruit and slightly less than called for (a double batch would call for 12oz and I used a 10oz jar). I made a double batch in a 9x13" pan and greased it really well and had no trouble getting it out. I also sprinkled the jam with a few handfuls of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips before adding the final topping layer and pressing it all in. The key to this not crumbling is to really work the SOFTENED butter into the dry ingredients with your hand. If you just stir it, it won't work enough of the fat through it and it will fall apart after it's baked. All in all, a nice, sweet, easy, cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
When I make these and almost every other recipe for baked goods I replace butter and margarine with canola oil to cut down on saturated fats and hydrogenated fats. I use canola in all my muffin recipes with great success I never use artificial sweeteners just cut back on sugars till I get it right. Diabetes can be difficult to manage in these days of convenience foods. I love Allrecipes nutritional information. When printing recipes go to advanced print options and check nutritional information for every recipe, this feature is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
These were delicious! My only mistake was not leaving enough room between the raspberry jam and the pan, and so my raspberry leaked to the sides and was a little bit burnt. It still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
These were PERFECT in every way! Easy, quick, and delicious! I love to bake and do bake a lot and I get lots of compliments on my treats. These moist yummy bars were way up at the top of the raves. Try em. The only changes - apricot jam (because that's what I had on hand). I doubled the basic recipe, sprayed 9x13 plus lined the sides with sprayed parchment. They were easy to cut and super easy to get out of the pan. I drizzled a tiny bit of white chocolate on top (not necessary). I almost forgot, I also added a tsp of cinnamon to the oatmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Absolutley delicious and very easy to make. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and doubled the recipe using a 13x9 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This cookie was great and really easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used a 12X8 pan, so they were nice and thick. The crumb topping took up the whole top so I drizzled some more jam on top to give it a nice color. I also drizzled white chocolate on them when they were cooled. They looked really pretty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
The bars were yummy! I made them for a cookie exchange and they turned out great! I added half a box of softened cream cheese on top of the raspberries then did the topping. As noted by other reviews if the raspberries come to close to the edge, after its baked you have to carefully separate it from the foil because it does stick. I cut them with an electric knife after they had cooled and that worked out great since they are a bit crumbly but they do firm up a bit when they sit for a while. I drizzled dark chocolate on half the batch. My husband liked them this way but I thought they were to sweet with the chocolate. Either way its a great recipeI plan to try it again with mango preserves since we have a mango tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,043) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States