Delicious Raisin Nut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
How interesting that my bread looks nothing like the picture shown! I really like this bread. I made a recipe almost similar to this years ago and was looking for something close. I read some of the reviews and let my cereal and milk soak for about ten minutes or so, so it would be a little mushier. I also added about a half cup of organic raisins and a tsp. of vanilla. I'm so glad to have this recipe again. The person I'm gifting this to is going to love it. This is a chewier quick bread. NOTE: If you add raisins like me and want them to be a little plumper, soak them in hot juice/water/soda for about 20 minutes. You'll have a fatter raisin and a little fruitier flavor to your loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wonderful. Last night I made one "regular" loaf (using raisin bran), then decided I needed a second and added 1 t cinnamon and 1/3 c chocolat chips with chip on top also. I took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Very moist and not too much fat :) I recommend highly. I cooked the full time plus a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Very tough crumb in spite of using buttermilk which softens the crumbs. Requires too much beating which creates too much gluten. Flavor good though. Too healthy for kids to like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I liked the bran cereal in the bread but my first bite indicated the 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of baking soda was too much for this recipie. I've seen recipes of similar quantities with no more than 1.5 teaspoons of baking soda and powder combined. Using fresh baking soda, I got a rather dry, salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
i have made this recipe twice as muffins and they are very good! i used all-bran cereal, raisins and walnuts in place of the raisin bran cereal and cut back the white sugar to 1/4 cup. the recipe makes a perfect dozen muffins and only needs to be cooked 30 minutes as muffins. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was good and easy. I had all the ingrediants and it certainly was moist. I added about an extra 1/4 cup of raisins. This went into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
At first I thought it had yeast in it as it looks like a yeast bread in the picture but anyway it was delicious and all my family loved it. Next time I will try it with canola oil and splenda and see what happens./...Barb G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
We love this recipe. It is moist,and has a marvelous flavor. I will make this again, perhaps using more raisins as another reviewer mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
My kids liked this! Instead of using raisin bran, I used Trader Joe's pumpkin granola and I added additional brown sugar and raisins. The effect was nice, the color and flavor very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States