Delicious Raisin Nut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! I will definitely make it again! I didn't have the cereal it called for so I substituted it for All-Bran cereal and added raisins. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This was a very moist and sweet tasting bread. I made the recipe into muffins. I substituted whole wheat flour, raisin bran cereal, and added cinnamon. I also used three very ripe bananas. It was a big hit at work with the girls. I definately will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Moist! The recipe deserves a blue ribbon. What a great way to use up all those old bananas in my frig. Today was the first time I used this recipe. My taste buds are still talking ... "More, More." I had three pieces before I called a halt to this new eating habit (and I might eat one piece before bedtime). I made ONE CHANGE to the recipe since I had no raisin nut bran cereal. I substituted it with 1-3/4 cup of raisin bran cereal and 1/4 cup of chopped pecan nuts. I will make more loaves and freeze them, air-sealing with two layers of plastic wrap then one layer of aluminum foil. If my family and I don't eat them all before month's end, I'll pass onto neighbors and friends. Try the recipe; you won't be disappointed. Thanks, Scrubb, for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This came out wonderfully! Rather than 1-1/2 cups regular flour, I used 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cups regular flour. I also added extra raisins, some walnuts and cinnamon. Once I poured the mixture in the pan, I sprinkled some white & brown sugar on top with some additional walnuts. I think the next time I make this, I will put the mixture into muffin tins. I love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
mmmm, such a unique bread! i followed this recipe as written with the lone exception of substituting the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. the delicious flavor gets better with age. thanks a bunch, scrubee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Nice twist on your average banana nut bread. I used Raisin Bran Crunch in this recipe. I also added another 1/2 c. of raisins(because isn't Raisin Bran a little skimpy with the raisins?),a 1/2 c. Craisins and a tsp. of vanilla extract. Baked up dark, so I covered it with foil halfway through. No complaints. Very tasty and hearty banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
yummy! almost can't stay away. too sweet for my healthy tongue (next time I'll reduce the sugar even more). good with whole wheat flour. I used regular Post raisin bran cereal. I substituted 1/4 c flax seed meal for equal portion of flour, added raisins and walnuts and cinnamon, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 C.+ raw sugar. Sorry guys, I find it really hard to bake some things without putting my own spin on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Within

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a nice, easy recipe that yields great results. It has a good texture, and the raisins are a unique but appreciated addition to re bread. I did tweak the recipe and substituted the all-purpose flour with wheat flour. Next time I make this recipe I want to add a little cinnamon. In general, it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
So yummy and moist. You really can't tell that there is cereal in it. I used All Bran and mixed in my own raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was honestly surprised this tasted so awesome! I thought for sure I would see cereal flakes, but you would never know it's in there. I used Raisin Bran Crunch, but it seems like a perfect way to use up any cereal in your house. I also added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. Perfect with my morning cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States