Delicious Raisin Nut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good twist on the old banana bread. I ended up baking this for 62 minutes in the end as the middle just wouldn't cook. After all that, the outside was a bit chewier than I would have preferred, although the middle tasted great. I did use Basic 4 cereal since that's what I had on hand with flakes and raising (and nuts and dates, which were also nice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Moist! The recipe deserves a blue ribbon. What a great way to use up all those old bananas in my frig. Today was the first time I used this recipe. My taste buds are still talking ... "More, More." I had three pieces before I called a halt to this new eating habit (and I might eat one piece before bedtime). I made ONE CHANGE to the recipe since I had no raisin nut bran cereal. I substituted it with 1-3/4 cup of raisin bran cereal and 1/4 cup of chopped pecan nuts. I will make more loaves and freeze them, air-sealing with two layers of plastic wrap then one layer of aluminum foil. If my family and I don't eat them all before month's end, I'll pass onto neighbors and friends. Try the recipe; you won't be disappointed. Thanks, Scrubb, for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Delicious! I turned it into muffins and added a bit of peanut butter, too. They were great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahAF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was really good. I used 11/2 cups of bananas, a quarter cup of white sugar instead of 1/2 and added a couple TBS of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Easy recipe - but had to use 3 bowls. I added oat bran in with the raisin bran to soak...Remember to add a little more milk too. Chopped walnuts were added also. I made mini-muffins, topped each with a little sprinkle of brown sugar and baked till golden brown. Everyone likes them...at least as much as you can like bran muffins :) - definately give this one a try...kids will probably like them. They're in the freezer now. I plan to sprinkle with powdered sugar and add to a tray of assorted cookies for a few parties coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really good. No problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This came out wonderfully! Rather than 1-1/2 cups regular flour, I used 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cups regular flour. I also added extra raisins, some walnuts and cinnamon. Once I poured the mixture in the pan, I sprinkled some white & brown sugar on top with some additional walnuts. I think the next time I make this, I will put the mixture into muffin tins. I love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great recipe! Has a wonderful flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good flavor, but the crust was somewhat tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I used up left over raisin bran and some bran Chex I had in the house. It came out fantastic. A lot of food value. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States