Delicious Raisin Nut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I fell asleep & almost didn't get any, because my hubby almost ate it all! I did add a bit of pecans & choc. chips. I don't bake often, but I will bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This had great flavor. I used bran flakes cereal. The raisin nut bran would have been too sweet for us. I added some mini chocolate chips and a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
So yummy and moist. You really can't tell that there is cereal in it. I used All Bran and mixed in my own raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
yummy! almost can't stay away. too sweet for my healthy tongue (next time I'll reduce the sugar even more). good with whole wheat flour. I used regular Post raisin bran cereal. I substituted 1/4 c flax seed meal for equal portion of flour, added raisins and walnuts and cinnamon, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 C.+ raw sugar. Sorry guys, I find it really hard to bake some things without putting my own spin on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Within

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I ended up using Grape Nuts cereal with a bit of raisins added to it because it was either that, cheerios, or mini wheats; I figured it would be the best to use. Following the recipe exactly, except with a little less oil, I had myself a delicious loaf in about 40 minutes. I used a bundt pan because for some reason I ALWAYS use a bundt pan, and the flavor was delicious. My only complaint would be that my loaf of extremely crumbly, but masha says it's because the cereal I used was like rock-hard rabbit food in the beginning. Next time I'll use a more absorbent cereal. :) But after sticking it in the fridge, the taste and texture just got better and better. This IS quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a nice, easy recipe that yields great results. It has a good texture, and the raisins are a unique but appreciated addition to re bread. I did tweak the recipe and substituted the all-purpose flour with wheat flour. Next time I make this recipe I want to add a little cinnamon. In general, it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe. I changed a few things though; I used 1c oatmeal in replace of the cereal and instead of using both white and brown sugar, I used a total of 2/3c brown sugar. I also added some crushed almonds and a little extra banana. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
4 1/2 stars! This was quite good! I made it as muffins (bake time = 18 minutes) and they were great for breakfast! Very filling and solid, not overly sweet. :) Many went back for seconds. I would recommend cinnamon. I may also try it again and omit raisins but add chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Nice twist on your average banana nut bread. I used Raisin Bran Crunch in this recipe. I also added another 1/2 c. of raisins(because isn't Raisin Bran a little skimpy with the raisins?),a 1/2 c. Craisins and a tsp. of vanilla extract. Baked up dark, so I covered it with foil halfway through. No complaints. Very tasty and hearty banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was honestly surprised this tasted so awesome! I thought for sure I would see cereal flakes, but you would never know it's in there. I used Raisin Bran Crunch, but it seems like a perfect way to use up any cereal in your house. I also added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. Perfect with my morning cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States