Delicious Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
(NOW WITH A LOW-FAT ALTERNATIVE!!) This recipe is GREAT! I have made these several times now with a few modifications that make people come begging for more: I doubled the spices (if not more), used only 2 cups sugar, left out the walnuts and added about 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Lastly, instead of making bread, I made muffins...TO DIE FOR!! In standard muffin cups the muffins take about 30 minutes to bake at 350. With these changes, NOW it is a 5-star recipe!! EDITED TO ADD: I decided to try a LOW-FAT version of these and it turned out GREAT! Adding to my previous modifications, I also substituted 1/2 of the oil for applesauce. There was absolutely NO DIFFERENCE in taste or moistness. No brainer, save the calories and fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This bread is so easy to make, and even easier to eat! I used half a cup of applesauce w/ a half cup of oil, a heaping teaspoon of vanilla, a bit of extra pumkin, only 2 cups of sugar w/ a tsp. of brown sugar, & added a tsp. allspice to the mix. It turned out fabulous! Thank you V Monte, we also love your recipe for Zucchini Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I added 3 TBS pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsp vanilla and 1 cup of pecans. The extra spice gave it wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
fabulous! very easy to make and quite delicious. its a bit too sweet for my tastes, so i suggest making it with a little less sugar, then using half brown sugar, half white. a little vanillia would also work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
So Good and moist. VERY EASY and delicious. I put everything in a bowl at once and mixed. One Recipe made 4 mini loafs (40 minutes) and one 9X5 large loaf (1 hour)...very good! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I have never had a more moist piece of pumpkin bread in my life and everybody wants me to make them one. Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I've tried different recipes for pumpkin bread. This one is much more moist than the others. It is nice that it makes 3 loaves. I made 2 large and 3 mini loaves. The larges ones were done in exactly an hour. I took the small ones out after about 45 minutes. I added a little ground cloves and some vanilla for some extra flavor. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Very good, although it didn't seem cooked enough at one hour. The middle was still doughy. Very flavorful. May try again and add some pumpkin pie spice as recommended by another reviewer. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
YUM! We used raisins instead of nuts as was suggested and it was very good. We made the mistake of trying to do it all in one pan, which meant the very top didn't get cooked entirely and the edges were a little burnt. Follow the directions- 3 7x3 as recommended. Anyway, a wonderful recipe. All three of us loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I used the recipe scaler and doubled this recipe. It was extremely easy and very, very good. I believe next time, I will add a little more cinnamon. It was very good as it was, but I like a little stronger cinnamon flavor. Also, I have a convection oven, I decreased heat to 325 and an hour was still a little too long. Be sure to check it sooner if you have a convection oven. You gotta try it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States