Delicious Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This recipe was great. I added a cup and a half of chocolate chips. I also used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning instead of the nutmeg and cinammon. I read another review saying that this bread tates better with age. I agree with this. I don't understand why that is. I tried some last night fresh out of the oven and I could barely taste the pumpkin. This morning it was delicious. I def recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
The best pumpkin bread I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! The only thing I changed because of my family's tastes, is I tripled the cinnamon and added 2 tbls of vanilla. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I love this recipe. My mom gave it to me years ago. I don´t use any salt and in place of the spices in the recipe I use 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice +2 teaspoons cinnamon. The flour is increased to 3 1/2 cups plus 1 cup raisins instead of walnuts.It makes a lot and to avoid the raw dough in the middle, I only fill each of the two large loaf pans with 2 1/2 cups of the batter and make up 18 muffins using the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
v monte: PLEASE thank your Mum for this fantastic recipe!!! For over 50 years, I've tried many pumpkin bread recipes and hated them all!Too dry, too sweet, too complicated. WHY I kept trying, I don't know. Made this without changes and it finally became the pumpkin bread of my dreams! Made them as jumbo muffins rather than loaf bread, simply to make commuting easier. Very moist, days after; rich pumpkin taste; super easy recipe...my half century quest has been solved! Passed it along to all my friends the very next day, I was that impressed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for moist pumpkin bread. I follow recipe exactly with the exception of adding 1/2 cup of raisins. Sometimes, instead of raisins, I will add dried cranberries or chocolate chips. We especially like the orange flavored cranberries. It is also good with a vanilla glaze or cream cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I thought the raisins were a really nice touch to the traditional pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
After reading the prior reviews, I made some adjustments: for dry ingredients, I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1 3/4 c white flour. Decreased salt to 1 tsp and decreased sugar to 2 c. I doubled the spices: 2 tsp nutmeg and 2 tsp cinnamon, added 1/4 tsp cloves and a few shakes of the McCormicks Chinese 5 spice (contains a mix of anise, cinnamon, star anise, cloves and ginger). For wet ingredients, I used a generous 2 c of mashed baked sugar pie pumpkin (which I peeled and cubed, then baked covered with foil for~45 min a few days prior). Increased the water to nearly 1 cup (since I used whole wheat flour which other reviewers said absorbs more water), and decreased to 1/3 c veg oil with 3/4 c vanilla yogurt. Added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Mixed 1 cup large dark chocolate chips into 2 of the 3 loafs and omitted the walnuts. I used 3 4x8" loaf pans, and cooked on convection at 325 for only 45-50 minutes. Pure perfection! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i do both nuts and raisens. My mom makes this in an the metal coffee cans. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe. I substituted all-purpose flour with hole het flour. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup raisins. Everyone loved this bread. I'll make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States