Delicious Pizza Sauce Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
delicious i highly recomend it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Simple, but tasty. Added a little oregano as well. Used the sauce on "Deep-Dish Cast Iron Pizza" from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Can't believe I've never made pizza sauce from scratch before. SO easy! This recipe is delicious!! I subbed what I had on hand, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, dried basil. (mashed up with potato masher after cooking awhile) Did add oregano and extra garlic. Can't wait to try this with San Marzano tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made as instructed above. Personally I love garlic and felt that 3 cloves didn't stand up to the 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, so I made it 5-6 cloves. Also, I recommend 3-6 pinches of sugar to balance it out the acids from the tomatoes. It makes a big difference.Don't overdo it though. Lastly- make sure the canned tomatoes are of high quality. Pastene brand Italian tomatoes are my favorite. In the North End in Boston the owner of my favorite restaurant said, "It's all about the tomatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor. I also liked the chunks of tomatoes on my pizza. I thought that the sauce was thin so I cooked it on a very low setting for the about a hour while my pizza crust was processing. I used it on the Cast-iron Pizza from this site. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Delicious. My husband called it a masterpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is a great base for any sort of tomato sauce, need a marinara? Add some onion and wine. Spaghetti sauce? add some tomato paste, and some sugar. It's a great starting point for all things tomatoey! It also stands up to a great deal of tinkerability.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Great sauce! I also add sugar to counter the acidity. When I don't have fresh basil, I replace it with pesto, omitting also the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYCOAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Excellent start-up sauce. I cook mine more, about 20 minutes, and add a little sugar to counter the acidity but other than that this is a very good basic sauce. The basil is a good addition, try to make a point to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I didn't have any basil and used garlic powder instead and it tastes delicious! I puréed carrots and bell peppers and a few extra fresh tomatoes and added them just to up the veggie intake. My 3 yr old and everyone else in the family raves about my pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States