Delicious Pizza Sauce Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is a great base for any sort of tomato sauce, need a marinara? Add some onion and wine. Spaghetti sauce? add some tomato paste, and some sugar. It's a great starting point for all things tomatoey! It also stands up to a great deal of tinkerability.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Great sauce! I also add sugar to counter the acidity. When I don't have fresh basil, I replace it with pesto, omitting also the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYCOAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Excellent start-up sauce. I cook mine more, about 20 minutes, and add a little sugar to counter the acidity but other than that this is a very good basic sauce. The basil is a good addition, try to make a point to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor. I also liked the chunks of tomatoes on my pizza. I thought that the sauce was thin so I cooked it on a very low setting for the about a hour while my pizza crust was processing. I used it on the Cast-iron Pizza from this site. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I didn't have any basil and used garlic powder instead and it tastes delicious! I puréed carrots and bell peppers and a few extra fresh tomatoes and added them just to up the veggie intake. My 3 yr old and everyone else in the family raves about my pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
okay long time to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I use bread flour instead of all purpose. Raises up in the oven while cooking. Very awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Delicious. My husband called it a masterpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This sauce is amazing and simple. I am so happy I found it. Just happen to have some fresh basil in the garden right now. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Can't believe I've never made pizza sauce from scratch before. SO easy! This recipe is delicious!! I subbed what I had on hand, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, dried basil. (mashed up with potato masher after cooking awhile) Did add oregano and extra garlic. Can't wait to try this with San Marzano tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States