Delicious Pineapple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very moist and tasty recipe. Cut to 12 servings for normal muffins. I did mix 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp nutmeg plus a little extra pineapple into the batter as well as put pineapple on top, will use more pineapple in batter next time, but still like the pineapple on top. When they mounded up, my pineapple and crumb topping were not evenly distributed, not sure what to do about that, but will have to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good base recipe. I even tried my hardest to botch it and I didn't (I didn't add the milk and forgot the salt). I did add all of the pineapple juice to the batter which is probably why the milk not being there didn't make a huge impact. Can def tell the salt wasn't in there, but my mistake. I rated this a 4 because I did have to sub things in otherwise it would have been a frighteningly bland muffin. Added the pineapple to the batter, added cinnamon and nutmeg as well. Also, on the topping, I didn't have room temp butter, so I melted it and subbed 1/4 cup quick oats and did 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp flour. This gave it the crumbly topping called for (also added a bit of fiber). Oh, and I did add nutmeg to the topping as well. Good base, otherwise! I'm going to see how this works with peaches! That will probably be absolutely outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i put the chopped pineapples in the mix and actually i think it made this recipe better. Also i put coconut shreds on top as well as the brown sugar topping i think the problem with this recipe is there needs to be a little bit more pineapple juice but besides that it is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These were amazing! I made them wrong the first time and put the pineapple in the mix. The second time I made them right. I doubled the recipe. Living in Puerto Rico, things get wet in a hurry here, but these were gone before I had time to put any in the freezer. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Good recipe, but I agree with other reviewers that it needs some major modification. The idea of placing the pineapple on top of the batter is unique, but unfortunately results in a much less flavorful muffin. As per others suggestions, I highly recommend adding the pineapple directly to the batter. Using canned pineapple, I found that the muffin wasn’t as sweet as I normally like it, even with the addition of the crumb topping. To compensate, I sprinkled extra white sugar on the tops of the muffins and got rave reviews from hubby’s coworkers. I also added vanilla, cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and rum extract. The muffins are truly beautiful, regardless of taste, they are very visually appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AyannahMers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were really good. My only problem was that the topping mixture came out king of pasty so it was hard to "sprinkle" it on the muffins. Other than that GREAT recipe once you dont melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I was trying to use up some leftover pineapple when I stumbled upon this recipe. I wasn't in the mood to make 18 muffins, tho, so I decided to to coffee/cake style. Made as directed (only change was adding a tbsp of vanilla/orange extract). Baked in 9" pan for 35" and it was simply wonderful. A little dry, perhaps, but I'm sure thats due to the way I baked it, but good eats with a cup of coffee. Nice job! I think tonight will serve with a small dollop of either whipped or ice cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very moist and good. The only thing that I did differently was add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I may change the streusel topping as well. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I love these! So good - its like pineapple upside down cake for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I added 1 tablespoon of Vanilla Extract and put the pineapple in the batter. I also added some blueberries. They came out really moist and the topping added the perfect amount of sweetness. I imagine they would come out rather bland without the pineapple and vanilla added to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States