Delicious Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I just made these cookies last night and they are almost gone already. I followed one reviewer's suggestion of substituting the 1 1/4 cup brown sugar for 1 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar and then used a full cup of peanut butter and real butter instead of shortening. I also baked the cookies at 350 like most people suggested for about 10 minutes. I only made about 12 cookies from the batch (I like them pretty big) and I flattened the balls of dough out and pressed them with a fork before I baked them. They are undoubtedly the best PB cookies I've ever had. I'm making another batch tonight to share with my family! Follow the substitutions and I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROSF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
As the daughter of a french pastry chef and the granddaughter of an old world cookie connoiseur, I'm trained in the art of seperating the immaculate cookie from the rubbish cookie. These, friends, are immaculate cookies. I made two batches- one regular, and one with chopped peanuts, and both are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
The BEST peanut butter cookie EVER. I modified the recipe though. I used 1 c. brown sugar and 1/3 c. white sugar. Also, used 1 c. peanut butter and replaced 1/4 c. of the shortening with butter. So moist and chewy and DELISH!!! To the people that think they are dry, you are baking them too long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Wow,having trouble typing, cause my hands are full of cookies. Loved this recipe. I replaced the shortening with a 1/2 cup of butter and also increased the peanut butter to 1 full cup. I've been trying to make peanut butter cookies for years and always found them hard and dry, these ones were soft and moist. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you Carla for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
these are wonderful. theyre still soo soft and chewy two days later!! oh, i used a full cup of peanut butter, and replaced the shortening with butter (did not have shortening).. still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Oh my goodness!! I am an avid cookie baker, and have never used that much vanilla in a recipe, and I know why! Those were the most disgusting and revolting peanut butter cookies I have ever had the chance to taste. My dog did not even like them! If anyone is thinking about making the "Delicious Peanut Butter Cookies," know that they are anything BUT delicious. I recommend using more peanut butter and much less vanilla! Thank you and have a super day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This is nearly identical to the recipe I have used for the past 10 years...1/2 a T. less vanilla, and always use butter flavor crisco...bake at 375 for 8 minutes and never over...cool for at least 5 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack. I have never had bad luck doing this, and the cookies never last 3 days in my household, with the recipe doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Read some other reviews and decided to do 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 butter, along with 1 cup packed brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar. Lowered the cooking temp to 350. And it looks like everyone was right! BY FAR THE BEST CHEWY PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
As is, these cookies are just OK. Use a whole cup of peanut butter. Turn the oven down to 350. Use less salt. Replace at least half, if not all of the shortening with butter. Flatten them with a fork, or something. Do these things, and you will have very *excellent* PB cookies. Some people just don't like vanilla; or that much vanilla. My family loves vanilla, and a whole tablespoon is a good thing in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
My daughter and I made these to sell at her lemonade stand during our family rummage. We had neighbors, who stopped by, coming back for more! We did add 1/4 cup more peanut butter. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States