Delicious Oat Bran Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I agree; this needs brown sugar for flavor. I use Sucanat (dehydrated sugar cane) which gives big molasses flavor with less sugar. Also, I added a dash of sea salt, it helps bind the flavors (just a DASH). Dates are gorgeous in this, but I only added ONE because they're so sweet. Adding organic frozen blueberries and a few sliced almonds or walnuts tossed in when the flame is off makes it anything but bland. Be adventurous--this is just a template, as all recipes are! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe was ok, but not great. I will not make it again because there are too many other recipes that have the wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Unfortunately, no one in our family enjoyed this. It was mushy and had a very bland taste. We added mashed bananas for sweetness but would not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time today, as I didn't have prunes I used frozen raspberries and dried apricots and nuts. It was delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
an easy fast breakfast! I used xytol to make mine sugar free, mixed in sugar free strawberry jam, and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a great quick breakfast, with a few healthy modifications: instead of sugar substitute 1/2 t of brown sugar and 1/2 t of honey. Plus 1 tbs of wheat germ. After reading the other reviews I decided to add half of a mashed banana, yummy! Plus a half ounce of walnuts, for extra protein. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Wow! I made this exactly as the recipe states & it's so good!! What a great, easy breakfast, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I accidentally put the oat bran in the pot before it was boiling, but it worked fine. It was a little but bland at first, so I added some honey. Yum! So I'll give it 5 stars with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I bought a big bag of this by the pound at the local health foods store and wasn't sure how to cook it. Thank you for the recipe. I used bananas because I didn't have any plums, as well as a tablespoon of ground flax seed for added fiber. Sooo yummy! I like how creamy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is so filling and keeps me on the go until lunch. I usually add 1/2 tsp of Natural Molasses brown sugar, 1 tsp of pure clear honey, 1/2 of a small chopped banana and a pinch of ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States