Delicious Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This ended up as a tasty, hearty, vegetarian soup following the advice of other reviewers: added garlic, more carrots and celery, dry sherry and Sirucha hot pepper sauce. I used 4 portobello mushroom caps, home made vegetable broth, 3 Tbs. brown basmati rice and 3 Tbs red lentils and simmered for about an hour an a half until the brown rice was soft and the lentils disintegrated. This made it acceptable for South Beach Diet phase 2. I may try to make it creamy by imersion blending it with the fat free half and half I impulsively purchased in a SBD shopping frenzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe with two exceptions. I added two cloves of crushed garlic and 1/4 cup of sherry. The soup was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
A tad bit disappointed in the recipe because it turned out bland without enough personality to stand on its own. Added some more soy sauce and then added some rice vinegar, which did perk things up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
also didn't blend it. very hearty. didnt need added salt at all. the more veggies the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I've made this soup twice now and I will say I prefer NOT blending any of the soup- we like chunks of veggies - not pureed veggies! Also, when I blended, I only blended half of the mixture so that there still were some chunks. Instead of just carrot OR celery stalk I used both - and 2 of each since we love veggies in our house. I also use orzo instead of rice and added 1T of hot red pepper sauce (rooster) when I added the soy sauce. Not TOO many changes but enough to make it a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffaloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This soup not only tasted great, but was easy to prepare. I suggest blending only half the soup and leaving the other half chunky, then mix together. Also great over egg noodles, or as a sauce for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This tasted wonderful! I used 1/2 cup rice to make it thicker, and I did not process the contents in a blender, I left it as is, and it came out absolutely wonderful! This is definitely a recipe that you can have fun with... my father suggested adding fresh, crisp bean sprouts right at the end (mixed in right before serving) to add another texture to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL. MY HUSBAND WOULD NOT EVEN TRY IT. I WILL NOT MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this soup for my roommates and it came out wonderfully. I used both carrots and celery, I substituted vegetable stock for chicken broth and I let it simmer for close to three hour. I chose not to blend it at the end to leave it a little chunky. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Easy to make and quite good. I used wild rice and portobello and button muchrooms. Low salt/no fat chicken broth lowers fat content, also. All in all, fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States