Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I will NEVER use another potato soup recipe , this ones perfect! We don't care for cooked celery so I use a little celery seed . I use this recipe as a base also, with many variations , such as... no meat at all , italian sausage & extra onion (my husband's favorite), diced chicken breast & (presteamed) broccoli (my kids' favorite !)and coming soon ..garlic, chicken breast, baby carrots, frozen corn,green beans and coarsely chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is the BEST potatoe soup I've had! A few changes I did... I didn't bother peeling the potatoes, just washed and diced them up. Also added some chopped carrots for color and flavor. Only added about 1/2tsp of pepper and no extra salt, just the boullion. I like my potatoe soup a little bit thicker than it turned out. I'm not sure if I did something wrong with the flour mixture or if it's just a thinner broth. So I mashed the veges real lightly with potatoe masher and added instant mashed potatoe flakes to thicken it up a bit! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is one of the best ham & potato soups I've ever tasted! I'm always looking for ham recipes, as I often buy a half fully cooked ham, cube, and divide up into freezer bags for quick meals. Making the white sauce separately really added the right creaminess to the potato/ham & veggie mixture. I used a can of chicken broth for part of the liquid, as I didn't have any bullion. Also threw in some shredded carrots I had on hand, plus 1/2 cup shredded cheese to the white sauce after it had thickened. Also, (to disguise the carrots), added a sprinkle of cheese to each bowl upon serving. Very creamy and tasty. I'll definitely make again, possibly adding corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I thought this recipe was excellent. I did change it a little bit. I used a ham bone with a little meat left on it. I boiled it to make stock and used this in place of the water. Then stripped the meat off the bone to use in the soup. I also put a few sprigs of fresh thyme in it...the result was soooo good. I made it for a friend who was sick and my husband was begging me to get them a pizza and let us have the soup! This is going in my recipe box for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1043 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
My dad gave me this huge ham last week and I have been looking for any recipe that has ham in it. I tried this one yesterday and converted it to a crockpot recipe. I LOVE my crockpot and use it constantly! I sauted the onions in a little vegetable oil until soft, added all the ingredients except the butter/flour and milk to the crockpot and cooked all day until the potatoes were nice and soft. I also added one diced carrot. About an hour before dinner I made the rue with the flour and butter and used a 12 oz. and 5 oz. can of evaporated milk instead of regular milk. I don't like to use regular milk in crockpot recipes because it sometimes curdles on me. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the soup, it just seemed like it needed a little something when I tasted it before serving. Topped each bowl of soup with fresh ground pepper and sliced green onions. This soup is rich, thick and creamy. Very hearty and filling, perfect for a cold winter night meal! My family really enjoyed this served with a homemade cheesy garlic pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Lots of chopping to do, but it was wonderful!! I also added fresh green beans and a can of chicken broth (instead of the water). I put it in the slower cooker on low for 6 hours and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
568 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodie Savoca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. When there was a death in the family, I needed something to take FAST so that we could get on the road. Very risky to bring something as a gift for a whole family, especially if you have never tested the recipe, but this was a home run! The ham really made this special and oh so good. I used far less salt, didn't measure, just to taste. Since different hams have different salt content, I highly recommend tasting first. Also, I used a little over 1 TBSP of boullion because I wanted the great taste of ham to come through. I cooked this on the stove and then put in my crockpot to keep warm and make travelling and reheating easy. Perfect! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
OMG, I received this recipe today as the "Daily Dish" and it has already become a favorite! We could NOT stop eating this soup, just amazing. The only changes I made was to add a few extra cups of chicken broth in addition to the water and boullion because I think I went a little overboard on the potatoes and needed more liquid. I also found that turning the heat up to med-high while stirring the butter, flour and milk mixture helped it to thicken more quickly. I added some cheddar cheese while stirring the sauce and then topped the bowls with a little more. Thanks for an easy and absolutely scrumtious recipe, my husband will be asking for this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This soup was DELICIOUS! My picky eater kids even asked for seconds and thirds. My husband who is not a soup fan loved it and asked me to put it on our list of regular meals. The only changes I made to the recipe was by using one can of Chicken Broth instead of the water and buillion cubes. My only suggestion is to double or triple the recipe, because you are going to want more than one bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was excellent soup. I made it for a friend of mine who just had a baby and she devoured it. It was a lot of chopping because I doubled the recipe...but it was well worth it. I think this could be very good with a can of corn added to it. It tastes more like a chowder than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States