Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is my favorite soup recipe! So easy and fast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I've been cooking for 52 years and have been told I'm a pretty good cook but I've never made a better potato soup then this one. The addition of the ham just takes it over the top. It's awesome! I learned a long time ago to add your salt and pepper little at a time and taste as you go especially when using salty meats in a recipe. My ham was not a salty ham but even so I didn't add my salt and pepper until everything was put together and then I seasoned it to our tastes. Other then that I followed this recipe exactly and it was the best potato soup we've ever had. I did add some dried parsley only for appearance. Another wonderful thing about this recipe is the base makes it so versatile so you can easily add different vegetables or meats to suit your families tastes. I will be making this often and experimenting with other meats and vegetables but I already know you can't go wrong with this recipe no matter how much you tweak it. You don't have to wait until you buy that seasonal ham to make it. You can bet I'll be making this soup often throughout the year. Thanks Ellie for sharing the best cream soup recipe out there. There's only two of us but I'm doubling the recipe tonight because as is it was gone by the next afternoon. Yeah it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made this soup without any additional changes knowing that I could save this if necessary by making changes after it was done. It did come out a bit thin in consistency for a ham and potato soup for my liking and did taste a bit bland though I was aware that the author suggested to add extra ingredients to improve it to our liking. Did add ingredients to thicken the soup by mashing some of the potatoes till the consistency was just right (you may add 1/4 cup 10%cream in place of 1/4 cup of the milk when making the recipe.) I topped off by adding savoury, and fresh thyme. It is important to add the pepper as freshly ground from a pepper mill. As well, a good recipe done as is without any changes – compliments to Ellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Holy moly this was amazing!! I threw in some broccoli & kept the soup in my slow cooker til the fam got home! A new favorite for us!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Very good recipe, easy, quick and usually all ingredients are on hand. I made it vegan by using Field Roast Italian Sausages and Almond milk in place of the ham and regular milk. My son and grandson both liked it, even though they aren't vegetarians. Thank you for a really good recipe. I'll be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Surprisingly good. love this recipe! fast, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jary Roxas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I was looking for something quick tasty and easy to add to my weeks recipes. This was perfect with all the ice and sleet we had here in North Carolina. I used chicken broth I had save in my freezer but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly, it turned out perfect! I will be making this soup again soon, it's ideal for cold winter nights. Thanks for this great comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
LOVE this recipe! Best potato recipe ever!! Doubled it and froze some for later. Added carrots and bc my 6 year old was helping-- we had a TBSP of pepper added. Tried to remove as much excess as I could and added more chicken stock-- still turned out fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States