Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was amazing. Made the stock from the leftover leg of ham that was slow cooked with a simple Dejon mustard and maple syrup glaze. Increased the serving size because I had 5 ½ cups of stock and did not use the chicken bouillon. Made a slightly thicker white sauce by adding more flower. After adding the milk to the sauce, I also added a ½ cup of shredded cheese. The end result was awesome with the maple syrup giving a slight smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
easy and fabulous. great for a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made this last night and I was awesome! I'm not a big fan of celery so i added carrots, I also didn't have all purpose flour but i had whole wheat and it worked great! I did, however, have to add the milk half way between adding the flour because it soaked up all the butter and I didn't want it to burn. I also used a spatula to eliminate the clumps because i didn't want a fork to ruin my pan. Great soup for the winter nights. Next time i am going to try and lighten it up with chicken instead of ham. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was a great potato soup I made a few small changes like using the ham bone in the stock, I also cut back the bouillon to 1 cube because that's what I had on hand and some wrote it was too thin so I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Everyone enjoyed it and I made a wonderful use of my leftover Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Love this recipe! Brought to camp out and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. Even my mother who doesn't like potato soup liked it (although she added more ham to her bowl). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious and my family LOVES it! I do use a leftover Ham Bone to make homemade stock to use in place of the water. The only other change I make is that I add some some shredded cheddar cheese at the end. I would say about a 1/2 cup or to taste. Some times I add a few carrots along with the celery and onion just for a splash of color but really you can't go wrong with this recipe! Its going to be one I make forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this soup and love it! I will save this recipe and make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Garski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Perfect, added no salt, doubled the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 8,474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States