Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is an easy and excellent recipe! The only changes I made were using chicken broth instead of bouillon, adding 4 oz. of sharp cheddar to the milk mixture, sautéing the veggies in evoo first (with some minced garlic, of course!), and adding the ham last. Super delicious! This will be my go-to potato soup recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Excellent soup! Easy to make and very tasty. Vaguely clam chowder tasting in a pleasant way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great recipe!! So many options to add and the whole family loooves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I tried this recipe and man is this thing good! After our annual Christmas feast we had a ton of leftover ham. This did the trick to knock some of those leftovers out of our fridge. This recipe is great and I highly recommend it! The taste of this soup is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I thought it was great, but I added a little extra pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My first shot at potato soup. Made thus pretty much as is and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
OK--THIS is FANTASTIC! And, EASY to boot! I LOVE that I now have a new and relatively quick recipe for Ham leftovers. I made it as written with the only two exceptions being that I tasted before salting since different hams can vary in saltiness. I recommend doing this since I found, with my ham, I didn't need to add salt at all! Second, I doubled the recipe and it doubled beautifully. I would love to try to see if I could make this soup, nearly as good without ham and with vegetable broth as a lenten meal. If it works, I'll be sure to post. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
A staple at my house. I use tons of veggies and sauté them ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was just....okay. Both my roommate and I agreed it was good, edible, but somehow very plain tasting. He eats anything I make for him, but even he said it needed "herbs or something". I had made potato-leek soup from another site and it was exquisitely delicate and rich. I tried to make it again with some of my own doctoring and totally screwed it up. So I found this recipe and decided to follow the directions to a T, since there were so many awesome reviews. I figured it was going to be spectacular. I was worried about the salt as per many of the reviews, so used low sodium chicken broth (I replaced the water entirely with it) and unsalted butter for the roux. But even with the ham steak I used, it was nowhere near seasoned well enough and came out completely bland! I used all the ingredients, followed all the directions fully. But in the end, I had to use a couple of really good shakes of Adobo seasoning in addition to at least 3-4 cranks of the pepper grinder and 3-4 good shakes of salt to coax some life out of this soup. I also used a potato masher for a creamier texture, but it was still lumpy a bit. The roux was easy - just remember to use med-high heat and work it until it's smooth and saucy. To be fair, I didn't measure out cups of the diced potato, just eyeballed it, so it really could've been too many potatoes and user error, but doubtful. I'm a very positive person and always try to find the best in things, but this recipe just wasn't for us, disappointingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I cut it to barebones I had no fresh ingredients so I just used canned carrots, "fresh potatoes" (they were old) ham , some seasoning , I was very confused when making the sauce , it thickened on the bottom and I panicked, so I dumped it into the soup and it thickened the soup up quick... My roommate LOVED it , so did I , can't wait till all ingredients are on my shopping list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 8,674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States