Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is an amazing soup! I use half and half instead of just milk for thicker soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is great as is ! But It can be the base if wanted for many variations. Personally we love it like it is. The guys told me it's not "moms" potato soup. But they still loved it . and would eat it again As long as I didn't stop making mine. They added on seconds some sharp shredded cheddar to just try and loved it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Great recipe.I used mashed russets for a thickener (flour just doesn't cut it) and Yukon Gold for the chunks.I also added a Colombian herb called Guascas. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
did not have celery so used celery seed worked great love this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
A Gem! Finally, a potato soup with real flavor. Used red potatoes; added tiny carrots; substituted water & bouillon with chicken broth (think veggie would work well also); lowered salt to 1/4 tsp; and garnished each bowl with shredded cheddar and chopped green onion tops. Served with garlic rolls. The options for this wonderful soup base are endless. A fave.....simply yummy the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This soup is awesome. I've made it three times now and double the recipe. Leftovers are good too. Crusty bread is a must. I agree with others in skipping the celery and doing celery salt or seeds instead. I don't like the texture of cooked celery. But other than that perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Pretty amazing, sub the ham for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Love it! Comfort food for sure, very satisfying, creamy and delicious. I put half and half instead of milk to make it more creamy, and instead of bouillon granules and water, used chicken stock right from grocery shelf (not chicken broth). Comes out super tasty, and not hard to make. I also use a potato ricer to smash the potatoes just a little after cooking which releases some potato starch and thickens the soup nicely, still leaves some chunks of potato, perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 8LifeGrande
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Made it for my 4 year old and my 16 year old and we LOVED it! I topped it with crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese! YUMMY!! It reminds me of my favorite Splash Cafe clam chowder! So warm and comforting! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I can't wait to try it with a few different variations as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Thank you. This was yummy. I added some Longhorn cheese and can't wait to share it with my little sister once she comes back from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 8,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States