Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I've made this several times and it comes out better every time I make it. A very versatile recipe that's not sensitive to exact measurements. Takes a little longer at altitude in Colorado, but it's worth waiting for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Awesome!!!! I added Carrotts. Ummm...Good on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCA233

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is one of the best ham & potato soups I've ever tasted! I'm always looking for ham recipes, as I often buy a half fully cooked ham, cube, and divide up into freezer bags for quick meals. Making the white sauce separately really added the right creaminess to the potato/ham & veggie mixture. I used a can of chicken broth for part of the liquid, as I didn't have any bullion. Also threw in some shredded carrots I had on hand, plus 1/2 cup shredded cheese to the white sauce after it had thickened. Also, (to disguise the carrots), added a sprinkle of cheese to each bowl upon serving. Very creamy and tasty. I'll definitely make again, possibly adding corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This is a great recipe. I would make this for anyone special. It makes you feel warm inside. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDLIZ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Yummy soup. I increased the ham, celery and onions and used heavy cream mixed with some milk. Added more fresh cracked black pepper. Tasty way to use up some leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This soup ended up with a cheesy taste to it, which my family loved. It was very easy and good. The second time I made it, I added carrots and a few other vegetables. It was very good this way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I didn't have any celery, so I used some broccoli & green beans with wonderful results. Nice for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great recipe! I boiled down a ham bone that had alot of meat left on it, threw in some onion and celery with it and let it simmer the goddness out of it.When it was done I discarded the bone, onion, and celery and used that as the base instead of plain water. Then I followed the recipe exactly, but did add a can of whole kernel corn. Delicious! Will definetly do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was a wonderful soup that I will definatly make again. One thing that I'll change though is that I'll put way less bullion in it. I didn't add the salt but it was still too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I thought this was very good. I added 1 cup of shredded cheddar to the white sauce and a couple of slices of american cheese. I omited the salt, the chicken granules make it salty enough. I also sauted the vegtables in butter before adding to the soup, and I added a clove of minced garlic while sauteing. I also added some broccoli chopped up farily small. A very good recipie, it will taste even better in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States