Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I was totally impressed with how easy this receipe was! However, I substituted 2 cups of milk for 2 cup of whipping cream, and it was really rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I always make this with our left over corn beef and cabbage from our St. Patrick's Day dinner. I leave out the celery and onion. A hearty soup to enjoy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I tasted the recipe as written and it seemed a little bland. I added a little rosemary and that spiced it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I used half milk and half 2%light half and half. If the soup seems a little thin add instant mashed potato flakes to thicken. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I use this recipe all the time. Absolutely love it. Recently when I made it and I didn't have any onion, I had already cut it all up. So I put in a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and it was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wayne, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This soup is delicious, I reduce the pepper to 1/2 tsp (1 is just too much for us) and at the end I like to add 1/2 a bag of thawed frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is my favorite soup recipe! So easy and fast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I've been cooking for 52 years and have been told I'm a pretty good cook but I've never made a better potato soup then this one. The addition of the ham just takes it over the top. It's awesome! I learned a long time ago to add your salt and pepper little at a time and taste as you go especially when using salty meats in a recipe. My ham was not a salty ham but even so I didn't add my salt and pepper until everything was put together and then I seasoned it to our tastes. Other then that I followed this recipe exactly and it was the best potato soup we've ever had. I did add some dried parsley only for appearance. Another wonderful thing about this recipe is the base makes it so versatile so you can easily add different vegetables or meats to suit your families tastes. I will be making this often and experimenting with other meats and vegetables but I already know you can't go wrong with this recipe no matter how much you tweak it. You don't have to wait until you buy that seasonal ham to make it. You can bet I'll be making this soup often throughout the year. Thanks Ellie for sharing the best cream soup recipe out there. There's only two of us but I'm doubling the recipe tonight because as is it was gone by the next afternoon. Yeah it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made this soup without any additional changes knowing that I could save this if necessary by making changes after it was done. It did come out a bit thin in consistency for a ham and potato soup for my liking and did taste a bit bland though I was aware that the author suggested to add extra ingredients to improve it to our liking. Did add ingredients to thicken the soup by mashing some of the potatoes till the consistency was just right (you may add 1/4 cup 10%cream in place of 1/4 cup of the milk when making the recipe.) I topped off by adding savoury, and fresh thyme. It is important to add the pepper as freshly ground from a pepper mill. As well, a good recipe done as is without any changes – compliments to Ellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Holy moly this was amazing!! I threw in some broccoli & kept the soup in my slow cooker til the fam got home! A new favorite for us!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States