Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Andre
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have to agree, this is a great potato soup recipe! My wife and I modified a little bit and added a garlic clove, carrots, and corn. We also garnished with bacon bits. Soooo, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is the house favorite soup now - replaced traditional chicken noodle soup! Have tried it with broccoli and with asparagus but kids like it best just as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great recipe! Quite easy and yet really tasty, too. I save time by using new potatoes so I don't have to peel. Also, a ham steak dices up fast. With a little planning, it's a fairly fast recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eli
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Perfect. I used chicken broth instead of granules. I had to increase the liquid so I subbed that for water. I didn't even add salt. I decided to go "Chopped" and used canned ham. I caramelized it and then added it. Perfection!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was awesome. Switched a couple of items around, but it gave you a great starting place..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is an amazing soup! I use half and half instead of just milk for thicker soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is great as is ! But It can be the base if wanted for many variations. Personally we love it like it is. The guys told me it's not "moms" potato soup. But they still loved it . and would eat it again As long as I didn't stop making mine. They added on seconds some sharp shredded cheddar to just try and loved it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Great recipe.I used mashed russets for a thickener (flour just doesn't cut it) and Yukon Gold for the chunks.I also added a Colombian herb called Guascas. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
did not have celery so used celery seed worked great love this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
A Gem! Finally, a potato soup with real flavor. Used red potatoes; added tiny carrots; substituted water & bouillon with chicken broth (think veggie would work well also); lowered salt to 1/4 tsp; and garnished each bowl with shredded cheddar and chopped green onion tops. Served with garlic rolls. The options for this wonderful soup base are endless. A fave.....simply yummy the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States