Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This went over very well with the family. It is really quick to make, just perfect for the tight nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used this recipe as a base and tweaked it a bit and it still turned out so so delicious. Even my kids, who are very picky, loved it. Instead of using chicken bullion, I used leftover ham bone and water for stock. Also used a few springs of fresh thyme like one user recommended. Once the vegetables were cooked, I used a hand blender in the pot to make the soup thick and creamy then added the ham. Added salt and pepper to taste. Since blending the soup made it thick, I decided to omit the butter, flour and milk, I didn't do any measuring and eyeballed everything according to how much water was used for the stock. The ham broth and fresh thyme just made everything tie together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great soup recipe! I followed the recipe, then decided I'd like it a little thicker. I used another reviewer's tip to add instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it up. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This dish is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This soup was totally awesome! The technique of making the bechamel separate and adding it at the end worked perfectly. The only thing I did different was to cook a bunch of bacon in the dutch oven and draining most of the fat. Then I cooked the celery, onions and ham in the bacon fat before adding the water and potatoes. I probably used more onion and potatoes than the recipe called for. I wanted it super hearty. I also used half n half instead of milk. Topped each bowl with chopped bacon, shredded cheddar and scallions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Tastes amaizing! This is my come back to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I make this a few times a month. It is definitely one of our favorite meals!! Only thing I changed is I boil my potatoes and ham in chicken broth and omit the chicken bouillon. I use just enough to cover the potatoes and ham and it works perfectly every time. I also always put cheddar cheese on top! This soup is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was very good. Simple to make, customizable, and great for cold weather. I did also do some slight modification by substituting the bouillon with 1 cup of chicken stock and it came out very well. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe is by far one of my family's favorites. This soup is the "special" dinner in our household. It has the best taste to it... Even one of my kids and my brother, both whom detest soup... LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Added carrot and used ham flavored bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States