Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by jessielynnb
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious and so easy! I used bacon instead of ham, stirred in some sour cream, and added diced carrots!! The best potato soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I reduced the pepper by a little bit and added a chopped carrot with the potatoes etc. At the end I added 1 cup of frozen corn. My husband raved. Definitely the soup to make after a ham dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious soup! I made this according to the recipe with a few small tweaks- I sautéed the onions and celery first, and used some leftover ham gravy in place of bouillon. I used the microwave to make my white sauce- quick and easy. I just had a bowl of the soup, and it is awesome. I'm glad I made a double batch because my three teenage sons are going to love it for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I haven't made this soup as the recipe is written, because the recipe I started with years ago was written as a low calorie alternative. I've since adjusted it and it's very similar to this. It's one of my favorite go to soups in the winter. As another reviewer has stated it's very versatile. You can even go low calorie with this if you're health conscious. My favorite is potato, ham, and corn. Add more herbs for better flavor. These days there are so many tasty low calories things you can add without skimping on the flavor. One thing you can do to thicken it is to take part of the soup out and put it in the blender/processer until its of a smoothie consistency and then put it back in the pot. Works great at thickening without having to add extra calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great soup but you sure don't need the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Best potato soup I've ever had!! I didn't put celery in it though bc I'm not a celery lover. I followed everything else in the recipe and cut up a few carrots that I added in and it was so good there's barely any leftovers. I will definitely keep making this recipe. It was super easy to make and did not take long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this recipe. My husband and family just kept praising it. I did add thinly sliced carrot rounds and garden onions, plus in place of milk, I used whipping cream. Other than that, all the same as what recipe called for and served with grilled cheese sandwiches. Will be a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This a simple and delicious potato soup. I did add a couple slices of American cheese, and substituted some of the water with a can of chicken broth. It's a good way to use up leftover ham. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I've been coming across this recipe for years as one of allrecipes top rated but I'm not a big ham fan. Then randomly was in the mood with the rainy cold weather yesterday. I wish I'd made it sooner!!! Quite possibly the best soup I've ever had! I bought pre-diced fully cooked ham (in the refrigerated section near the Bob Evans sides) and used the entire 2 cups (I'm feeding a 30 yr old man and 14 yo teenage boy lol). I used petite red potatoes and just cubed with skin left on. We like thicker, heartier soup so I think I probably used about 2.5 lb potatoes, approx 1 cup diced celery, 1/2 large onion, and 2 cups sliced carrots. I add extra water as needed and used 2 packets chicken bouillon. When I made the rue I also upped those ingredients slightly to compensate for increase in veggies and keep flavor on target. No extra salt needed and I always love to add white pepper to dishes :-) This was so amazing. Ready for batch 2 already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Home Run in my household. I pretty much stuck to the recipe except for a few minor tweaks. I used 3 Yukon Gold and 1 large red potato, all unpeeled. Instead of the 3-1/4 cups plain water, I boiled two smoked pork hocks for about 1/2 hour and used that. I used two of the large boullion cubes in place of the granules. I couldn't resist a little grated cheddar with snipped scallions in my bowl once it was done. Served with Dill, Sea Salt and Olive Oil flavored Triscuits. Like I said, "Homerun in my household"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 8,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States