Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was super simple to make. It needed more flavor--so I added more flavor--and I added extra ham (1.5-2 cups total) and an extra cup of water as I don't like soups that are mostly base and potatoes versus meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My whole family loves this! I used ham bone stock instead of plain water, half milk, half cream, cornstarch rue to thicken instead of flour, and a handful of shredded cheese to each bowl...definitely a make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this exactly as written, and everyone loved it! This went into the family recipe book today. Next time, I'll double the ingredients, because we barely had any left over from our family of four. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanette Bussen
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a very excellent soup. It was easy to make and my family loves it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Bussen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was a hit at my house! And super easy. I omitted the salt as suggested by some reviewers and used water from boiling the ham bone and a can of chicken broth in place of the water. Otherwise kept it as is. I was worried about the onions and celery (not pre-cooking them), but it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made this soup recipe and I will make it again but with some changes. First...I will use maybe half the flour or omit it completely,there really is no need for it. Potatoes thicken anything naturally. I did this time around added 1/4 fine diced carrot for color/interest. I also added fresh thyme. (2) sprigs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Mount, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this many times, one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhea D
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I precook end the broth and used the bond from the ham. Once the stock was made I then added fresh onions, celery, and potatoes. This soup is absolutely delicious and I will use this recipe from here on in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhea D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great Soup!! I added bacon and cheese but the recipe can't be beat. Bit hit with the family. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I didn't think this recipe could be a good as everyone was saying, but I was proven very wrong. This soup is DELICIOUS! The only thing I will do differently next time is add the salt immediately so it has time to soak into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 8,668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States