Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is the only recipe I will ever use for potato soup! I could eat this every day (sadly I would weigh 400 pounds if I did so I won't). My husband loves it as well. I did cut down on the pepper to 1/2 teaspoon as that was I could taste first time around. Made more roué and took care of the overly peppery flavor. It's a great way to use some of my leftover ham and it's so flavorful! It's truly a "comfort" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Delicious as is. I added some chopped carrots and boiled all of my veggies in chicken broth. Used fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I have made this at least a doaen times. I use chicken broth (no MSG) instead of water. I double or triple the recipe and use more potatoes, celery, and ham than the measurements here. I also grate a couple carrots and add them the last few minutes. We always have a bowl of shredded cheddar cheese and chopped green onions for garnish. Our whole family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
It is so rare for me to follow a recipe and be overjoyed with the results!!! I used the white pepper the first time, black pepper the next. Ellie11 is a cooking genius. Here it is 2015, and this recipe still shines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
It's the best! I've made it several times and everyone raves. I used 4 cups potatoes, 1 cup celery, 1 cup onions,2 cups ham and added 1 cup of carrots.I also sauteed the onions and celery first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Delicious! The first two time, recipe as is. I didnt have any have today, so I cooked some bacon, sauteed the onions, celery added carrots to some of the bacon greese, added potatoes etc. almost as good as original. Thanks for posting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Just made this soup and it turned out great! Did not make big changes to the receipt except sprinkled in some garlic powder for taste and sauteed onions and celery, plus cut back on the butter for roux...other than that this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Celentano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Added bacon and cheddar cheese. Substituted a can of chicken broth for a cup of water and added no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I love it and it does rate 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 8,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States