Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I had to make changes only because I didn't have all the ingredients. No onion so onion powder. Skim milk so I used half skim and half cream, added carrots that I chopped fine, and used "better than bullion" rather then cubes. Also had some real bacon bits left over and dumped those in them. It turned out wonderful. I don't think you could mess it up. I'll freeze at least half in serving size containers for quick easy take to work meals. This is a keeper. It will get faster after making it a few times and not having to keep looking at the measurement list. I think you could add cheese on top or stir in broccoli or cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is ridiculously delicious. Everyone who eats it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fabulous! Maybe next time I would try using broth vs the water and boulion/flavoring! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wachoracho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was very easy to make and satisfying to consume. I used chicken broth instead of the bullion granules, and skipped the salt. I mistakenly added the white pepper after all was mixed together, making the pepper rather obvious to the tongue. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faroe47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We are loving this soup! I followed the recipe but added a few more items; shredded carrots, frozen peas & chopped green beans. I also wanted extra, so I doubled the recipe. I used just 1 tsp of white pepper as the recipe called for, didn't double that. I figured that extra pepper could be added to the individual bowl. Also, instead of doubling the milk mixture I followed the milk mixture for the standard recipe and then I used a pint of cream as the doubling part. I also used russet potatoes diced & left skins on. This soup is so delicious & I think especially with the cream, it tastes like a chowder. Next time I'm going to add a couple of cans of minced clams. The ham is also a great substitute for bacon that becomes soft and fatty in soups. This soup isn't as thick as some people may like but you can add some cornstarch to a portion & mix back into the soup. Also, one last thing, this soup tastes even better two days later. Thanks again, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Manor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Barney
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Really great recipe I was looking for something to use my leftover ham for and was in the mood for soup and recipe was perfect didn't even have to go to the store. I noticed a few people commenting on the thickness of the soup and I like my soup a little thicker so I added a little extra flour to the rue and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Barney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This soup is AWESOME!! Try it and you'll never search for another potato soup recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this with gluten free flour and had difficulty thickening the soup so I used a little cornstarch but for the flavor of this soup I give 5 stars. Even my picky kids loved it with crackers and even ate it for breakfast the next morning instead of cereal. Id make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is by far the easiest and BEST potato soup ever! My son and husband always order potato soup at restaurants. They said this was way better than from any restaurant! I reduced the amount of pepper to 1/4 teaspoon which was perfect. I will make this often. Thanks! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 8,605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States